Firenze on Fire


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 5th 2006
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Firenze on Fire



I thought I'd do a bit of an update here. Not sure if anyone reads this since I'm not updating everyday or anything (That would be too costly...) But I'm doing what I can.

Not sure when I last wrote, but I think it was Madrid, right? Well, I had a great few days in Madrid and met some great people, then I was off to Valencia where I met one girl the morning I left, because that's the way it tends to go!

I was then off to Barcelona to attempt to get tickets on a night train to Milan so I could finally be in Italy. I got there, and on the way to the train station, I met Dan, from Jersey (which is part of Britain, an island off to coast between England and France). He was going to Paris on a night train that night. I got to the ticket counter and found out that I wasn't able to get 2nd class tickets for the night, and I had the choice of 190 Euros worth on a first class ticket, or attempt to find a hostel in Barcelona and for-go my first night in Milan. I found out that with the first class ticket, I would get dinner, breakfast, an individual room, my own bathroom, and a shower. I thought about it, weighed the prices, and found out that it would probably cost me almost the same (give or take 50 euros) whichever way I do it.

So. With my first class ticket in hand, I made myself a peanut butter sandwich since I have an endless amount of that and bread to last me until I'm back in France (literally!) I found Dan and we sat down and talked for 5 hours, mostly about traveling. Good guy. We exchanged emails, and I told him if he's ever in Canada, to let me know and I'd show him around the areas I know ... Which consist of downtown Toronto and K/W...

I got on my train and was amazed at my room. It indeed had a shower and bathroom and a bed and all. Plus a key for my door for extra security. I went to the next car where dinner would be served and sat myself down in a table of four all to myself. I was kicked out soon enough and I sat with a couple from Spain. The woman knew English and we talked for all of the 3 course meal I was given - one of the best meals I've had since I came to Europe!

I went back to my room, got ready for bed, and relaxed. Next morning I went to the dining cart and got my breakfast - after flooding my room due to my shower ... Yes, I'm really just that classy!! No one said anything to me, so I suppose no one noticed! Oh well!!

So I got to Milan, and somehow found my way to the ticket office, found out I didn't need a ticket, and tried to board the train going to Venice. Nope... It was too crazy and already filled up, so I decided to wait another hour. I was faced with the same filled up train and stood for the first hour ... then people left and I got to sit down for the next 2 hours.

Venice is pretty, but I was lost for 3 hours before I got to my hostel! I also didn't have a map for the first hour. I literally stood in San Marco square completely confused, with my Lonely Planet crappy map, with no idea where I was going. I finally broke down and bought a map for 2 Euros. It still took me two hours to retrace my steps and get to the hostel (since I had gone WAY out of my way!)

Venice consisted of sitting in courtyards writing in my journal, eating Gnocchi in a restaurant, and feeding pigeons ... THEY SAT ON ME!!! Those pigeons are really fat and I do believe that San Marco Square is surely the resort town for pigeons of the world. They literally just chill and food comes to them. I wonder if the word has spread?

I got to Florence yesterday and was once again confused, since stupid me didn't write down the address and Kristy had torn the Florence section out of my guidebook (THANKS SIS!!) I went online near the train station (for a cheaper price than I'm paying now!) and got the address, feeling like I hated Europe and hated Italy even more. Bah. Still not super duper loving Italy since I feel really uncomfortable near Italian men. It wasn't like this in Venice, lemme tell ya that. Florence, they definitely stare and say random things in Italian. I just know where to avoid, and attempt to either stay in crowds or avoid local streets - which doesn't help that my hostel is on a local street!

I hung out by the River Arno, which is beautiful, and wrote in my journal a bit, updating my thoughts and all. It was needed, since I felt a lot better after this was done. I was approached by some Italian guy who was all about how sympathique I was (I got confused because this means 'nice' in French) ... but then he said 'Bella' ... so yeah ... He wasn't creepy, just asked me a lot of questions in Italian and I tried my best to answer in the worst Italian EVER. I've picked up the needed words, but that's it. He finally left, taking forever to do so!

I went back, had a shower, and got ready for bed since I've become lazy and go to bed at 10:30pm now. I just get bored and I don't always want to sit there and watch the World Cup on TV ... actually, this is the first hostel in a long time that has actually had a TV. I definitely miss it 😞 *sigh*

Today, I did laundry, bought a new book, saw the Duomo and wasn't super impressed ... I don't know. I've just seen too many different buildings to really care anymore. I took the pictures I had to take and that was that.

I don't know how I'm going to do Rome when I don't know much about the city, or the history, or really care to see ANYTHING. I think I've lost whatever excitement for traveling that I once had. Or I'm just sick of being alone. If anything, that's it. I'm just tired of having to rely solely on myself, and while I'm doing great and haven't gotten into any bad situations ever (since I avoid being out after the sun sets unless I'm with people from my hostel), I still long to not have to worry about my passport and wallet as much. Anyhoo... I've got 14 minutes left, so I think I'll do one last check of emails, reply what I need to reply to, and that's that until Rome or Salerno depending on when I get online next.

Ciao.

Advertisement



6th June 2006

I'm still reading!!!! So keep updating when you can!
12th June 2006

What Uma said..
We're still reading :) Hope you're doing well and enjoying Italy (finally).

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb