Tuscany experiences


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 4th 2010
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been almost a week in Florence and the time is flying by. We have already discovered a breakfast place near our favourite market that knows our "usual" orders. The albergo that we are staying in is full of interesting characters including a house mother who always seems to be lurking around the corner. I am just happy to have our own bathroom and a fan.

So far Italy has been so wonderful. We have walked all over the city. This morning we did a tour of the Accademia museum to see the statue of David. Amazing! I got a bit teary-eyed when I saw him, it was something I have always wanted to experience. A person has no idea how remarkable the artistry is until you see it up close. The tour guide was great and I learned a lot more than I would have wandering on my own.

Yesterday we experience Tuscan cooking at a class and made our own pasta and various sauces. The chef was interesting. His favourite thing to say was "big mistake!" and when we were traumatized, he would just say "I'll fold it" and everything was ok. It was hilarious. Eating a meal that we made ourselves was wonderful and we were a proud bunch.

On Friday Jody and I went on a tour of Chianti, visiting Greve and another small town (the name escapes me). We visited a Terracotta shop and winery and then sat down to enjoy a traditional Tuscan farm meal of pasta, fresh tomato sauce, Chianti wine, fresh cheese and various sausages. So tasty!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb