Don't you get all giddy when people speak Italian … Ok, maybe it's just me.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 10th 2010
Published: June 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Dulles AirportDulles AirportDulles Airport

"Ah, my last good beer..."

Florence



What an incredibly exhausting travel day, well actually 2 days.

If you have met my mother, you know she is a tad bit crazy, especially when it comes to keeping good health... and one her most favorite things to be crazy about is her vitamins she swears by. She decided that, since we were going away on such an amazing vacation, no one is allowed to get sick, and thus need to be loaded up on Vitamin C. However, after pulling out a 'horse pill' to hand to me, she promptly sneezed on it. I suppose that would somewhat cancel out any good effects it may have had... Anyway, I have missed my dose of Vitamin C, and I'm sure someone will be informed if I die.

"It's a small world." I actually ran into my French teacher and the girls going on the summer NDP France trip at the airport several times, until we finally realized they were going to be on the same flight. The first segment from Washington to Paris was 7.5 hours. I watched Alice in Wonderland and Valentine's Day, and the latter was quite funny. We were in Premium Voyageur class on Air France, and boy am I spoiled now! It was so spacious and comfortable. I don't know what I'll do when I go back to economy! I had a decent dinner on the flight, and they served me wine! OK! I am officially in Europe! Unfortunately I did not sleep at all, not even for few minutes, but I did shout out "HI ASH!" at some point when the plane was over top England. 😊

We arrived at the Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport at 6AM (Paris time), and began our search for Terminal 2G. "There's a sign for 2G! Follow that!" ... "Keep going! There's another arrow!" ... and another, and we kept following ... walking and walking ... and another ... and another ... and another ... Does 2G exist? Is there a hidden camera with French people laughing at how many times the stupid Americans will walk in a circle endlessly searching for Terminal 2G? After much turmoil, WE FOUND IT! Finally! Wait, no... this is the bus to Terminal 2G.... Well, we did get there eventually.

I had a bite of Anna's croissant (I got to check "Croissant in Paris" off my to-do list!),
FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

from the plane
had some more wine (this trip really is starting off quite nicely), and then proceeded to embark upon the journey of The Most Heinous Two Hours Of My Life. I cannot tell you what it is like going from business class on Air France to sitting in tiny little seats on a tiny little connection flight. Let me preface by saying, I had the window seat. Seat 5A, my seat. Unfortunately, for some reason, my family members really enjoy making things overly complicated and confusing. I'm not even really sure how it happened, but I somehow ended up squashed between Kathy and a very large French man...leaving HIM with my window seat. My unending headache did not exactly help, nor did my threatening stomach, which probably would have gone berserk had I sat there another hour. In all honesty, needing to use the 'barf bag' on the flight really would have done me in.

But oh... oh... Italy. Everything was suddenly, magically worth it, even after merely stepping out of the airport. It was as if I were walking out of hell, and being greeted by beautiful people, welcoming me into heaven. The crazy French make me walk in
FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

from the airport shuttle
circles for 3 miles searching for 2G, and the Italians put me on a bus to move 100 yards, if that. I started to wonder if they were going to start handing out champagne while they were not checking our passports.

I actually sat there while being driven to the apartment, wishing that my eyes were larger, so that I could take in more of the glorious scenery around me, because literally everything is just SO beautiful. Every time I turn my head, the next thing I see is more picturesque than the last... and everyone is speaking Italian. I know, I'm in Italy, of course everyone is speaking Italian, but I mean, don't you just get all giddy when people speak Italian? ........ yes, alright, I know it's just me.

Speaking of which, The European men certainly make no secret of looking you up and down... my goodness! I better not get "pinched" as much as everyone claims I will! I am not quite sure how I would react. I'll have to resist turning around to slap the guy! Well, we shall see... I won't be too upset, as long as I don't bruise!

The apartment
Florence ApartmentFlorence ApartmentFlorence Apartment

Kathy's first reaction
we are staying at while in Florence is just beyond words. Honestly, any word in my vocabulary just could not even come close to doing it justice, and neither will the pictures, but they will hopefully give you some idea of how absolutely magnificent it is.

I crashed as soon as we got in, and had no idea how tired I was until I wound up sleeping for 4 hours! We went out and explored afterward in the little town in Florence outside our apartment, and got a bite to eat at the restaurant by our apartment. I really am enjoying being "legal" and just given a glass of wine without question. Had some wonderful Prosecco at dinner! We have been nearly accosted by several salesmen standing outside their stores. Anna fell for one of their traps, as he asked the lovely lady her name and where she was from and if she'd like to try on this pretty little jacket that would just look so 'bellissima' on her... Lured by his compliments, and tempted by the authentic Italian leather jackets, we followed her in. Nearly a half hour lady, we left, promising to return and consider the €600 price tag. Those Italians and their tricky charm! ...he did put his arm around me for a little too long after he found out I was 18 though... I'm thinking we won't be going back there!

FYI - "C" apparently stands for "caldo," which means "hot" ...not "cold." So, if you're ever in Italy, and are staring at the shower in the bathroom for twenty minutes wondering why you have no hot water... try the other facet...

...I've yet to see an unattractive person.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Florence ApartmentFlorence Apartment
Florence Apartment

Check out how high the ceiling is!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb