Field Trip to Chianti vineyard


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 16th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm taking a wine and food pairing class in Florence. For the class we were able to visit a Chianti vineyard. We had to take a bus and it was about an hour bus ride to the vineyard. We toured the vineyard, it was a nice Fall day so the colors were amazing. We then got to taste 3 Chianti wines, 1 was the basic Chianti, the second was a 2006, and the third was a super Tuscan Chianti. The second wine was my favorite so I bought two bottles, one for my mom/myself and my dad. I also bought extra virgin olive oil. They made us this soup called Ribollita, which is a soup based on bread and olive oil. It was the best soup I have ever had, I want to learn how to make it. The olive oil is what makes the ribollita though. I bought some to take home, but it has to be used in the first 3 months of purchase or it loses quality. Hopefully I will be able to get the wine and olive oil home in one piece. They also gave us bread with this tomato paste that they make and sell. Also, they made us salami sandwiches, it was very nice of them to do this for us. The wine was relatively cheap because it is made there. We were also told that other vineyards are own by the same people and one of them offers apartments for rent to stay on the property.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb