Firenze, pt. 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 27th 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View from the streetView from the streetView from the street

Got a sneak peak of our target as we approached the playground.
Day 5:

Today was very laid back. Didn't do much besides revisit neighboring attractions and hung about the numerous gathering spaces and piazzas. We went back to Piazza Signoria where there's a museum inside. It exhibited a lot of paintings and some sculptures but I must admit, although many of them are pretty impressive, I'm not a big fan. I think if I took the many art history classes that UW offers I would appreciate them much more. For dinner we picked up bread, cheese, salami, and bologna which is probably as good of a dinner I've had throughout the trip. At night we decided walk to city and ended up hanging out at the Duomo steps with a few beers. Never ever thought I'd do that. Afterward, we decided to go to a concert... at church. My friend is an avid church-goer and so we went to a late night concert by a local church choir. Not bad but the combination of the heat and the beer made me sleepy.

Day 6:

We decided to go to Pisa instead of Sienna today because that's a field trip destination for the quarter. The hour-long train ride was really
Chillin'Chillin'Chillin'

Very original picture. I don't think anyone has ever thought about doing this. Right.
awkward because the seats face each other which means that you're basically playing footsies with the person in front of you... and if that person isn't your friend, the situation becomes really really awkward. Once in Pisa it was a straight shot to the opposite side of town and to the main attractions, most notably, the Leaning Tower of Pisa. The church and baptistery were pretty amazing. Much like the other churches, this one was adorned with elaborate details and ornament. The combination of these three buildings with large patches of green grass made this a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery.

Off to Rome tomorrow morning! It'll be my home for the next few months. I hope its just as accommodating as Florence. I'm absolutely captivated with this place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The churchThe church
The church

The facade of the church is quite original. Its a sunday so we couldn't tour the entire cathedral.
SquareSquare
Square

Stopped to rest in this very elegant square. The horse you see pissed like a fountain a minute before I took this picture.
AmukAmuk
Amuk

There was something about the large plains of green grass and great weather that made us want to play.


28th September 2009

Wow, that looks amazing! I amd glad you are having a great time. I MISS YOU! <3 Dee
28th September 2009

so cool!
hey Minh, the pictures are amazing! It looks like such a great place to be! I'm so proud of you studying abroad and getting to experience different parts of the world! Make sure to create fun and cool memories there so you can take them back with you when you return to America so you can share with all of us! Oh yea, and don't forget us either! lol Thanks for sharing your experience with us too!
5th October 2009

AWESOME
Hey Minh! Hope you're having fun and taking advantage of every learning opportunity there is over there for you. The pictures are great. Very awe-inspiring. Years from now, you can look back at this stuff and actually say "yeah, I've been there" like a cool guy. lol. Not many people can say that. I'm glad that you were able to do this. Have fun in Rome. Be safe :)
6th October 2009

Bologna?
Hi! I hope you get a chance to eat better food than bologna--like pizza, pasta and more. Don't be afraid to ask the locals about where to dine. You have the emergency card too! ;) I'll see Mom this week and show her your recent blog entries. Great writing and AWESOME pix! Keep it up. Love you lots! Chi 3

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb