Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 6th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before we leave SpainBefore we leave SpainBefore we leave Spain

This is the *only* drinking fountain in Spain. It's at the airport.
On the Fourth of July, instead of having a bbq near the beach, I decided to leave Madrid for a quick trip to Florence. This was my first time in Italy, and I have to say that it was a great experience - I can definitely see going back many times!

I was able to take some great pictures of the clouds prior to landing in Florence, which was really neat too. Once we landed in Florence, I definitely felt like I was in another world. The old charm of the city is something that just can't be recreated. I was really amazed at how small the city actually is - but even considering it's size, I walked a lot. And although I am not a museum person, I was really impressed with the size of the David. I really didn't think that it was quite that big.

The food, of course, was also amazing! A family friend recommended going to Trattoria Nella, and it was the best Italian food that I have ever tasted. I tried ricotta and spinach ravioli with a white truffle sauce. Never had truffles before this, and I can actually say that I now
FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

From the plane.
understand why people go crazy for them. It really added a nutty taste to it.

I really liked the outdoor market too. I don't think I can really give the city an adequate description, so just check out the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 70, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb