School


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Church of Santa TrinitaChurch of Santa TrinitaChurch of Santa Trinita

We went to this church as part of my Masters and Monuments Class
Yesterday was my first day of classes. My schedule is awesome, I only have classes on Monday and Wednesday which is going to make traveling and site seeing really easy. The classes that I am taking are Masters and Monuments and Contempary Italy. Masters and Monuments is awesome! We meet for an hour and have a lecture and then we walk around Florence for two hours and just look at churches and different architecture in Italy. My other class is kind of boring, but I get wireless in that classroom so it was a good chance to catch up on emails and talk to people online. The teacher for that class is adorable, he hardly speaks english. Lastnight we had planned to go out but ended up cooking dinner in our apartment and then drinking wine and just talking. My apartment has 8 girls, but there are 3 apartments from Uconn in my building; in all there are 24 girls from UConn in my building which is awesome. There is always someone around wanting to do something.

Today the weather is miserable. I didn't wake up until 11:30 because it was so dark in our apartment. When I finally woke up I got myself together and a group of us walked to the school to start booking trips. The walk to school was pretty miserable too, we are a 20 minute walk which is fine when its nice out, but today the weather here is just like school; windy and POURING. We all made it to school a little wet and then started to book trips. So far we are going to Switzerland next weekend and Paris the weekend of June 12th. Switzerland is going to be AWESOME! As of now there are about 20 people from UConn going on the trip. I think the rest of my weekends are going to be spent in Italy; this weekend I think we are going to Rome for a day and maybe overnight.

Everything is going really well, I love it.

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

ArchwayArchway
Archway

These archways were built to support the buildings so they would not fall onto eachother
DuomoDuomo
Duomo

Front of the Duomo
Uconn in Florence!Uconn in Florence!
Uconn in Florence!

Girls from Uconn that live on the First Floor of my building, we all got ready to go out but then stayed in and drank wine instead
Wireless RoomWireless Room
Wireless Room

This is the mural on the ceiling of our wireless room
ClassClass
Class

This is where I have my anthroplogy class
CeilingCeiling
Ceiling

Ceiling of my class


2nd June 2008

Hi Danielle
Hi Danielle! I finally visited your blog today to see what you've been up to. Looks like you're having a great time and seeing so much. Enjoy the rest of your stay. I look forward to seeing more pictures and reading more"Danielle" stories! Love, Janet (Spadory)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb