Arrived in Florence... and all isnt well


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


In a fair bit of pain here... like I did to my right one a couple of years ago, Ive torn my left Achilles heel, running across the road to get out of the way of a crazy scooter on my way into the ruins of Pompei. I kept going around all day and it gradually got worse and the next day was doing the "crunchy" feeling when I moved my foot... ripping more of the little tendons that surround the main one.

I have emailed my travel agent to see if my travel insurance covers this... if it does Im definitely coming home, its hurts like hell just limping around and is the kind of thing that takes months of little exercise to recover from.... gggrrrrrrrrrr. If it isnt covered Im thinking about coming home anyway because I wont be able to do the things like hiking in the Swiss Alps or the Cinque Terra, let alone run with the bulls 😞

Got a lot to write about my wonderful stay with the Martone family in Gragnano but that will have to wait, I need to sort out this injury thing. So far Florence is rather different... traffic is very well behaved, even boring, and the "hostel" has like 500 or more beds, full of Amercians, Canadians and Aussies it seems. Made my bed then went for a walk, came back to find some retard had taken the sheets from my bed but was in the shower at the time so I couldnt smack him around. Its full of the typical dickheads that will eat at the bar in the hostel instead of going to a local restaurant, wear t-shirts with a name on it that is apparently a university somewhere, and will complain that when they walk into a shop people dont speak English to them. The opposite of couchsurfing.

Wish I was back on that crazy bus ride into Gragnano right now....

Advertisement



20th May 2008

BUGGER
What a bugger.. those bloody scooter drivers. What a shame, 4 week holiday gone because of a silly accident. You probably will get a bit back off your insurance company, but most of your tours, accomodation will be lost. Can't you just drug up....
20th May 2008

Not looking good at the moment, unless I have a doctor certificate saying I can't travel, which is pretty unlikely.. might have to slip them a few euros ,)

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb