Padova, Verona and Lake Garda


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 17th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

verona
Saturday and Sunday a few friends and I took an overnight trip to Padova (Padua), Verona and Lake Garda. Padova was very interesting to see because we saw one of the biggest cathedrals in the area, but also that we saw the last judgment by Giotto in a smaller cathedral. Our tour guide explained all of the panels on the walls in the allotted 15 minutes inside the actual chapel and the elaborated outside in the beautiful arena courtyard. Similar to Sistine Chapel in layout of panels, but completely different also and something that you could spend days looking at and still not see all the details. Then we took a bus to Verona, home of Romeo and Juliet. I tried polenta with gorgonzola cheese, because the Venuto region is where is was originally created, and I have to say, I probably won’t order it again for a while. Really strange consistency and not a whole lot of flavor, but I'm glad I tried it where it began. The next day we toured the really cute town of Verona and saw Juliet's home and the infamous balcony and courtyard. Besides this, we saw the arena located in the town which is amazingly similar to the Coliseum in Rome, but a little smaller and with fewer tourists. It was actually one of my favorite places I saw on the trip because our tour guides explained the history and specific details behind the space, which were really interesting. It was used as a space for "entertainment" with animals, gladiators, and poor Christians battling it out until one bit the dust. It was a surreal feeling to stand in the exact spot where things like that happened hundreds of years ago. After the trip to the arena, we drove about 45 minutes to Sirmione and Lake Garda. It was a beautiful area, and though it was pretty foggy that day, the weather had a cool effect on the lake, where we couldn't see the other side, and it just looked like one big gray expanse. There were also lots of ducks that we fed our gelato to. The trip was really tiring, but I'm so glad I went because I think Verona is definitely one of my favorite places in Italy. See for yourself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

arena in verona
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Juliet's house. obviously.
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

graffiti wall outside Juliet's house
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

famous balcony
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

statue of Juliet


18th March 2008

Verona
Sounds like the Morgan I know has returned...hate that polenta!! I have to agree with you that it really has a strange texture and not such a great taste. But with your new appreciation for many, many foods, I think you get a pass on this one! It really sounds like a beautiful area and a new favorite of yours. Wish I could see it in person. Love, Mom
25th March 2008

Catching up
Morgan, I haven't had a chance to catch up with your travels until tonight. Wow! I am so jealous! Glad you are having such a fabulous time. Can't believe you will be home in a little over a month. Lynn

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb