First tourist stop


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 11th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

At Saint CroceAt Saint CroceAt Saint Croce

Cold and wet at Saint Croce. Naomi is miserable. Sam is Sam.
Our first real tourist stop was Saint Croce church. We picked it because it was close to the apartment and we thought we could get there quickly in the cold rain, thunder and lightning. We discovered the church was actually colder than the outdoors, but it was only damp, not rainy. The highlight of the church is the tomb of Galileo. What amazed me the most about seeing this tomb was that it brought out feelings of guilt toward my high school physics teacher, Mr. Chadwick. I am probably still counted on the debit side of his teaching balance sheet. I was the one student who he could not reach. I did enjoy reading about Galileo in that class and that may have redeemed me slightly. I am sure if he knew I am now married to an engineer with a passion for physics he’d be laughing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb