Firenze Day 1


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 18th 2008
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday Night, January 19

I crossed my first border in Europe today. Te train stopped for a while. We were confused as to why. The we saw policia and la guarda. We thought that someone was getting busted for drugs or something, but we were just at the border. They checked out passports. They stared at it pretty intently. I wanted a stamp but they wouldn't give me one. We switched trains in Milan and continued on our way to Firenze, aka Florence. I sat next to a crotchety old man. Michelle was across form me. On the reserved trains you have reserved seats - meaning you're told where to sit, just in case you didn't know. It kind of sucks. But o well. On that train ride for some reason I got really homesick. Tears just started rolling down my cheeks for no reason. I was listening to only sad songs intentionally which I know was stupid, but it's one of those things I guess. The train stations in Italy are different than the ones in Switzerland. They're dirtier. We had no idea how to get to our hostel when we got there. We went to Information to find
LochnessLochnessLochness

We're lifetime members.
out, but they were closed. Someone asked a man and his friend how we got there and they gave us directions. We got there fairly easily. It's literally about a two minute walk from the train station. We checked in with Dominic and gout our room keys and stuff. I was in a room with Monica, Natalie and Jason. Room 44 fo' life! It was pretty ridic. It was definitely a good time, I will explain in more detail soon. After we unpacked we wanted food, of course, so someone asked Dominic for a recommendation and then of some bars and all to go to. We ended up goign to this restaurant, something Acqua. I had potato filled ravioli with zucchini, prawns and a glass of white wine. It was pretty good. It wasn't the one Dominic recommended He told us to go to Il Due Acqua, but we apparently didn't know how to read. haha. It took us forever to get there too. Jason led the way and took us around town rather than straight to the restaurant. It took us at least 45 minutes to find it. But we did pass Il Duomo. It's kind of hard to miss, but man was it beautiful at night. Jason tried to pretend he did it on purpose, but I doubt it. lol. Just kidding, I knew that was his plan all along. Natalie wanted to go back to the hostel after dinner to get ready to go out and so did I, so we did. Everyone else went to this place called Lochness, Dominic recommended it (go figure). We freshened up, changed and then went and met them. It took Natalie ten minutes to get us home because let's be serious, I have no natural sense of direction. Lately I've been noticing that that flaw is a huge inconvenience. Anyway, Natalie and I followed Dominic to this Lochness place. It was pretty sketch. It was a green door in a wall. Literally. It was strange. We had to give our name and b-day but hey, we're lifetime members. (woop-iddy-doo). I was like umm...super sketch. But drinks were 2 for 1, not bad. When I got there Jackie gave me her long island iced tea and Natalie and I ordered a couple drinks. Later on everyone wanted to go home but Natalie, Michelle and I didn't, so we followed Dominic and his friend to another bar and then one more after that. Then we went home and each went to our respective beds. We were a little drunk but not enough to where we couldn't make good decisions and find our way home. Too bad when we got there though the door was locked. Yay for hostel curfews! Not 😞 Thank goodness the guy was leaving to go home and let us in. Apparently curfew was 3 and we got home at 3:08. (In reality curfew was 2 a.m., but this we found out later). Then I passed out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb