I'm Here!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Our neighborhoodOur neighborhoodOur neighborhood

views, the street, etc
I'm finally here!! After a long long 2 days flying from Charlotte, and eventually landing in Florence, I moved in to the most charming and wonderful apartment with an amazing view of the Duomo. I tried capturing it, but the seemingly permanent mist is distracting. We have wandered around the city, found classes, sat through orientation for 2 days, and eaten ridiculous amounts of pizza. And we found bottles of wine for less than 2 euro each! All of my roomates are great, and super excited about living in Italia for 4 months. 2 are from "Jersey" one from Maryland, one from California and of course me, who everyone assumes is the most country bumpkin ever! Of course, the food has been phenomenal, including so far: caprese paninis, calzonis, pizza and all the fresh mozzerella and tomatoes you can ask for...heaven really. Though the italiano is coming along at a very slow pace, its coming, but it doesnt help that lots of people here speak English and since it is very obvious we are Americans, they obviously switch immediately, as we are too stupid to figure out italian. oh well, I think class will help. Speaking of class, I am taking: the culture of food and wine in italian society, contemporary italian culture and society, american and british writers in florence, and a basic language class. All of the classes offered sound sooo cool that I wish I could take them all. I have climbed what has to be millions of stairs, already fended off gross italian men, and had lunch on the Ponte Vecchio, and I think this has to be one of the most beautiful cities in the whole world. I wish everyone could see it at some point in life. I am at an internet cafe so this has to be short, but I will try to send postcards etc soon!

Ciao Ciao!!

Morgan


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th January 2008

Hey MorMor!!!!! It looks and sounds like you are already having an amazing time! I wish I was there, it looks beautiful! I already miss your ears...it's going to be a long 4 months without your ears! Have lots and lots of fun! I love you!!! love, B
13th January 2008

Hey love I'm so glad you made it there safe and are loving everything about it so far! The pictures are beautiful, the food and wine sound delicious, and I'm so jealous of your classes. I can't wait to hear more and get a post card from ITALIA! You are very missed here by the frat. I have to run to the nursery now, but I'll say hey to Reeve (and Brendon if he comes) for you. LOVE, Rocky
13th January 2008

Ciao bella; come va?
Ahhhhhhh magnifico! Le tue fotographie sono stupendi! I got SO excited reading your entry; I started speaking Italian to myself. I can't believe how close you are to the Duomo. Sono molto geloso. So, the food: sounds like you're loving it, as I figured you would :) Eat lots of mozzarella fresca and pizza margherita for me! When you get settled into your classes, I want to hear all about them. I read that you had been fending off sketch balls, hahahah! Stay strong :) O mo, keep having the time of your life! I love you, and I'll talk to you soon! -Linds
14th January 2008

Happy to be along for the ride
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this blog. I look forward to going through the semester with you since I have never been out of the U.S. (except for the Bahamas).
14th January 2008

Morgan!! Sounds incredible!! I loved your entry, keep us updated.. Enjoy every bit of it and keep drinking that 2 euro wine!! Delicious! xoxoxo
22nd January 2008

wish i were there
Hi, Know you are having the time of your life. The pictures are breathtaking and I look forward to sharing your experience through your blog. Send me the address for a gift package and a list of things you would like. Study hard and have the time of your life.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb