Weekend in Firenze with Michael Buble


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 28th 2007
Published: January 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The weekend after Sicily I decided to stay in Florence (along with a ton of other people) to visit Florence more. We also stayed in town this weekend because we had tickets to see: Michael Buble! (whom I love!)

Florence is such an amazing city and I loved staying there, visiting with friends who were visiting Italy from other Pepperdine programs from Germany, Switzerland, and London. I walked with people to see the Duomo and the David. We went into a museum behind the Duomo to see the real doors of paradise as well. My friend Alyssa was visiting from Lausanne. She was in my suite last year and it was so good to see her! She stayed in my room that weekend too. We went to Spera and watched movies then woke up Saturday for Cafe Liberta (this amazing cafe near our house).

Saturday, a bunch of people went to the Uffizi. I didnt go since I'd already been there but it is definitely something that you need to see if you are in Florence. It has some of the most amazing artwork from artists like Botticelli, Da Vinci, Titian, Parmigiano and many more. I love all the Renaissance artwork that is so evident in Florence.

That night, we went out to a wonderful restaurant called Za Za Restaurant before the concert. We took a taxi to the Buble concert afterward. It wasn't too far from our house but we wanted to get there early to beat the rush since it had been sold out for many months. The concert was incredible! He had a great jazz band up on stage and he even sang in Italian. They let some people up to the front and I got so close to him--then at the end, he sang accapella and it was beautiful. I loved it! After the show we saw that his bus was in this parking lot so we waited for him to show up and sure enough he did! We got to see him and talk to him and get his autograph. It was so funny because he actually remembered my friend, Omid, from the year before. Omid met him at starbucks back in Malibu where his studio is. The next morning we woke up early for church service and then had to say goodbye to all our friends. It was sad to say bye but I was happy to have had such a good, relaxing weekend!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb