Undecided in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 6th 2007
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody.

We're still a bit undecided about Florence.

It's got some great things...we saw Michelangelo's David today, which was obviously fantastic, but it's just a strange place.

For example, the museum the David is housed in, you would easily walk past it if it wasn't for the massive queue outside. It's just another dumpy building.

That's the thing about Florence...I've been working on this illustration all day...

You know when you play with a kid, and it's fun for a few seconds, and then you wish you hadn't because they still find it fun long after you're very sick of it? If you're like me, in that situation, I try to progressively make the game less fun for the kids, although this rarely works. I think Florence is a bit like that with tourists. I think it thought about 500 years ago that it would be kinda nice to entertain people and let them see some amazing buildings and artwork etc, but then as time went on it realised it didn't really like tourists all that much, and so it's been trying to make itself less inviting as the years progressed. It's dirty, all the buildings are dingy, and the people are the crankiest people I've ever met. So it does lose some of its appeal.

But even so, the things it does have are amazing, and worth having a look at...although I think that maybe 2 days is the limit for time spent here.

Anyways, better go.

Hopefully we will be able to get some pictures up again eventually.

Hope everybody is well, missing everybody.

Bye bye

Advertisement



13th September 2007

Heh heh love your illustration, I felt like that too, but I assumed I must have been all un-cultured n stuff. The only fun I had in Florence was listening to street musicians. At least Venice had some pizazz... ciao bambinos L

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb