Florence (Blog by Nicole)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 28th 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Florence at about 11 am after an uneventful (and cheap!) bus ride from Siena. Florence is definitely busier than sleepy little Siena. Florence is really a great city. It is full of culture, good food, famous art and TOURISTS. We have seen a lot of Americans. They seemed to be a lot in Venice too, but not really is any of the other places we have been. You always know the tour groups because they are following someone with a microphone or an obnoxious umbrella.

I had the brillant idea that we should climb the dome of the Duomo. It was 463 steps to the top! That was a long sweaty climb, but definitely worth it. We could take in the city from above and see some of the surrounding hill towns. After that crazy climb, we got some pasta and gelato (Italian ice cream)! Gelato is so good and so easy to get. I believe every third storefront in Florence is a gelateria. Next, we saw the famous David statue. It is much more impressive in person than I thought it would be. I would recommend seeing it if you are ever in Florence. We spent
GlimpsesGlimpsesGlimpses

of the city and fresh air on the way up.
the rest of the afternoon strolling around the city taking in the sights. For a break from the heat, we are updating the lovely blog. I understand we have a following now so we do not want to disappoint!

Jeff note: I was so excited to see Michaelangelo's David. Its a beautiful display and of course I wanted a picture. I take my first pic and immediately get yelled at, "Mister! Mister! No pictures!" I was so mad that you can't take pictures, but I got one shot! If you just be fast and sneaky!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My illegal picture of DavidMy illegal picture of David
My illegal picture of David

I got scolded for taking my camera out, but if you're fast, you can get a quick picture!


31st August 2007

Please no jail in italy............
Okay jeff please dont end up in a jail in italy! That is not one of the excursions I have planned for Florence to bail you ! Thanks for the blog Nicole. We will be in Florence so please leave me a trail to find!
31st August 2007

Your audience awaits
I could handle the gelato. Sounds grand. I log on the computer every several hours to see if there is anything new. I am glad you are having fun. Enjoy, Mom
31st August 2007

Sounds like my Budda incident!
Hey, Florence is beautiful! I like the illegal picture, reminds me of a certain Budda that I got acquainted with in Chicago! Ha! Glad you are having a great time! Dad took a job over at Granite City, so I'm printing out for him your updates! Have fun! Melissa
1st September 2007

Very cool!
Hi there...your mom, Shirley is in my class at MU. She told me about your blog because my fiance and I are leaving for Dublin in the morning. I hope to do Italy someday too. Have fun! It looks like you are doing just that in your pictures...very cool. Lisa Prettyman-Gage
1st September 2007

So true!
Hahahah! I forgot about Buddha!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb