In Transit


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuscany BalconyTuscany BalconyTuscany Balcony

Beautiful View
I just now saw my first firefly. On my way down from the volunteer house I saw it zipping around like a little alien spaceship. Pretty damn cool. Tomorrow we leave Casa Cares for San Gimigiano and I am disheartened about that. I was just getting completely used to being here and really enjoying myself and now we have to go, but I dont want to take advantage of the fact that we are staying for free so we are going on our way. I think Paul is going to tag along with us as well which should add even more fun to our trip. Today Johanna, who is from Germany, went with us to Florence to show us around. We had to endure the bus which smelt like macaroni and cheese and the graffiti covered train full of crazy people to get there. I think the public transportation system here is great but damnit i am starting to grow a great hatred for it. It feels like you spend an eternity on it and its so dirty you want to puke. It takes any energy I have and has the immediate effects of a sedative. Sometimes we will think of something to say and we wont be bored or we will read but otherwise there is silence on the f-ing mind numbing train. just a bit of a rant...on the train I was so bored that I said a usual stupid hannah statement. I said, Velcro is really cool. And really at the moment I had suddenly realized how genius it is. Johanna said what is that word? I said Velcro and showed her and asked what the german word for velcro was. She said oh we call it Clit for short. Melissa and I laughed until I was crying. I thought maybe we heard her wrong so she repeated it for us and we giggled some more and she had no idea what was going on. The language barrier is a funny thing. It totally reduces us to act like children and use the only five words we know and infantile hand gestures to try to make people explain what we need. After a walk around Casa Cares I came upon a gentlemen from the Czech Republic and an Italain who were trying to speak to me but I didnt understand a word. Finally the just went BZZZZZ and I understood instantly. Bees. Suddenly a BeeMan in a BeeSuit came out of the trees and explained to us in broken English about the Queen Bee. But I Digress. Florence was pretty and packed like all the other cities in Italy and we had hardly any time so I didnt get to see the Uffizzi Museum which seriously kills me but we climbed pretty far up and got a nice view of Florence which made things a bit better. We saw a replica of the statue David which is way larger than I imagined. We walked around a lot and then left. Oh and we went to a resturant which we havent done by ourselves yet because we are trying to be so cheap and i got a huge pizza that was delicious and horribly hard to eat with a fork and knife. Why cant we all just eat with our hands? SO much easier. Although I have to admit the European way of eating has always seemed so amazing and graceful to me. Too bad I cant achieve it.
Well now i am calling it a night and sleeping my last night in the cold wonderful dungeon ive called home the last 3 days. Oddly enough i am going to miss it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb