New people


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 16th 2004
Published: September 16th 2004
Edit Blog Post

The stillness that this city lacks will be found in the parts of the city away from the center, my new home. I found an apartment in a quiet, but social neighborhood north of Firenze center, with large windows allowing lots of air flow, a view of the city from my bedroom window, a lavatrice (washer), elevator, small enclosed terrazza, and a tub in the bathroom. I'll be living with a group of 3 other late 20, early 30 year olds, who both work and study. The building is incredibly clean, and around the corner are all the resturants, markets, gelaterias, etc that I need. In 15 minutes I'm back in the center of Firenze, with a choice of several buses. In 10 minutes, plus 10 walking, I'm at my school which is even further north of Florence. I am very happy and am excited to soon explore a whole new aspect of Firenze: the "neighborhood".

Now, I've found a place where i can take dance, an open figure drawing session at a near by art accademy, and even take singing lessons, but I'm going to wait (before I committ to anything) to see what connections I make when classes
Wear and tear of the centuriesWear and tear of the centuriesWear and tear of the centuries

A view of the street outside of Gabriell's gallery. This is no museum, and how many people look at this wall every day and never notice how incredible it is.
for school begin. It feels good to find opportunities everywhere, even though I may not partake of them! As of right now, when i need to exercise, I run. When I want to see art, I step out my front door. When I want to make art, I sit at my desk, turn on some tunes (Sarah McLaughlin, Cocteau Twins, Peter Gabriel, St. Germain lounge and jazz) and make it.
Thinking about art, I am intrigued with what I'm finding in these back streets...a small, gothic-looking studio filled with lights, glass cases and hip music, with modern, hand-made silver jewelry, the jeweler's supplies and sawing table next to the door. An hour later, I passed by (for the 8th time) a more classic studio, the painter sitting in therear, still looking out at the passers-by....quiet, warm light, an unfinished painting on an easel. This time I went in. I met Gabrielle, who is commissioned a few times a month to paint portraits, which is how he mostly gaines his income (less often people come in to buy work off the wall). He is one of the very few artists who own a working art gallery filled with his personal artwork. I tell him I'm in Florence to study the language, but also to adventure, find a job, make art. I was a teacher in Boston.. He is interested, we talk a few minutes, shows me the back of his studio, he storage room. I ask him if I could show him my sketch book sometime, being a "maestro", it would be an honor.
I return the next morning, this morning, to take his picture and wish him a "Buona giornata", and we stand in the street, both wondering what the day will bring.

Let me also finally introduce you to Paolo, who has helped me adjust to this grand new city with patience and support! Paolo is also a knowledgeable historian of Giambattisto Vico, and a peer/friend of my father. Paolo used to work within the police, but is now working for a section of the main library or "biblioteca". Many students come here to study in a large, quiet, room filled with ancient books behind metal cabinet doors....these are not to be used. The building is quiet beautiful, and the top floor has an incredible view of the Duomo. Paolo has been helping me answer questions, figuring
Cloister inside bibliotecaCloister inside bibliotecaCloister inside biblioteca

This is where students are (usually) taking a smoking break from their silent studying.
out how to communicate in Italian, and offered a friendly ear! It has been great to have someone trustworthy and knowledgeable of this city!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sofia and I Sofia and I
Sofia and I

"To the Questura!" Where we met...in the midst of chaos...and we salute to it while toasting with Spumante!
ModernityModernity
Modernity

Priests use cell phones too...


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb