Casualties


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 3rd 2005
Published: July 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

We're at the train station, waiting for our train to Sienna, then to Rome. Italy is also the land of cheap Internet. Wee! So expect me to keep this journal more up to date in the coming days. I just did my previous journal last night so there's nothing new to add yet. So, here are some random stuff.

Anyway, here's a list of casualties we've encountered and experiences we've survived so far:
1. Lost our flashlight (Switzerland)
2. Lost our ledger book (Florence, Italy)
3. Lost my face wash *sniffles*
4. Flies swarm (Switzerland)
5. Hordes of mosquitos (Italy)
6. Stinging nettles (Scotland)
7. Flying, stinging, unidentified insect (Switzerland)
8. Bed bug bites (England)

We've heard unpleasant stories about Rome, about the gypsies, the rude people, the pollution, etc. There's this morbid obsession I have about all these unpleasantries and I can't wait to see how true or untrue these stories are.

Anyway, I think I've perfected the art of travelling with only 1 shirt. Wear one throughout the day. In the evening when I take my shower, I wash the tshirt, then WEAR it again. So what if it's still damp. Within a couple of hours it'll dry off then I'll have a clean Tshirt to wear at night. Tomorrow morning, I'll wake up and be ready to go. Repeat.

2 of the 3 thirts I bought are black and have become obsolete the more south we go (it gets hotter during the day). So the 1 tshirt routine developed out of necessity than wont. So that's a tip for those who want to travel super light.

Anyway, thanks for the comments, keep em coming. I'll write again soon.

Advertisement



3rd July 2005

Love the wash and wear tip . . .
. . . and hearing about all the adventures. I've got Google Earth trained on Italy and am following along . . . take care. Love, Mom
5th July 2005

travel light
suggestions 1) why wash? crowds a problem, they will eventually give you space. 2) take a shirt from christian (chris) 3) trade your two dark T shirts for one light colored shirt 4) keep posting, I enjoy the pictures and traveling wit. Bill/pop

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb