Buon Giorno!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 17th 2007
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm here! A kind Italian man from the University center just hooked up my laptop for wireless, so I have a few minutes before my next meeting to touch base with everyone.

The trip over was, as usual, quite stressful and tiring. They lost 2 planes worth of luggage in Munich, so I'm stuck with what is in my small bookbag until tomorrow (when they "promise" it will be here). Luckily I brought clean underwear and my toothbrush, but the clothes I wore on the plane are not exactly what I want to be wearing all week long. It's strange because I had a feeling when I put my luggage on the belt in JFK that I wouldn't see it for a while. I thought...this is the trip. this is the trip it's lost.

Other than the luggage situation, I'm complete estatic to be here. So far orientation is a lot of meetings and herding large groups of us from one place to another, but its nice getting to know everyone. My two roommates, Lauren and Megan (!!) are really nice. Lauren was the only one of us who had luggage so she's been very kind in lending us facewash and other necessities.

Florence is beautiful. I am trying my best to be brave in speaking Italian. So far I bought coffee and a phone card speaking Italian and all went well. People are extremely friendly and its just a fantastic feeling knowing that I'm going to actually be here for 3.5 months. There is so much to see! Most of the professors are Italian, and they promise to help us with getting to know the culture.

I don't find out who my host family is until tomorrow. Then we check out of the hotel and move in with our new family. Orientation feels a lot like being a freshman in college again, so I'm pretty excited to move in with the family and put all the "administrative stuff" behind me.

I hope all is well on the home front! I'll post pictures when I have time to take them! Ciao a tutti!


Advertisement



17th January 2007

oooooooo!
Sarah i am so excited for you!!! my god i can't wait to visit you...i kinda actually wish i was just spending the whole week there...shhh don't tell megan or matt...i feel like that wouldn't go over too well with either of them haha but i miss you and send me your address as soon as you get it! love
20th January 2007

yesss!
katie, you hoe i read this too! hahah...that sucks about your luggage! that happened to my cousin when she went to italy to study abroad! i am sure it will get there soon though. yay to roomates named megan!!! orientation felt like starting college again here too, haha. miss you, can't wait to visit you, have fun!
21st January 2007

thank you
thank you for allowing me to a part of your travel log! I am so happy for you and your wonderful family. I will pray for your daily for a safe and happy learning experience. Love Shar
21st January 2007

updates! i need details!
you suck at updating this. i'm a detail-oriented person and i need information stat. that means now.
22nd January 2007

best to you!
Have a wonderful time!! Be careful and all that other "mom" stuff. Thinking of you!!!
22nd January 2007

malu bwanji!
bummer about the luggage. have some ice cream in my name.
10th February 2007

Is this real?
I just saw you walking down the street...are you really there? More blogs please!
28th March 2007

your my american idol
so your in germany. what does the eiffel tower look like. did your parents like living in the shoe. how is your foreign language lesson going. will i see your on foreign idol. you should be singing pretty loud with that italian wine in your hand. dont come back with an italian boyfriend or ill be jealous. remember wine and song go good togetheer. italians fust screw it up.. no late nitght gondola rides either. they make you seasick after a gallon or so of dago red. and thats not don diego. study hard, sleep late and spend your dads money foolishly. by the way he still thinks you his best effort. dont let him down.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb