Giving back to Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 16th 2018
Published: January 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Reflecting back on the past few days I realize how grateful and lucky I am to be given this opportunity to be learning and exploring this beautiful city of Florence. Most people are not able to have a chance to see the world and a different culture like I am doing now and for that I feel truly blessed. I'm learning about the art, history and culture of Florence that I know I will carry with me for the rest of my life. For that I feel like Florence deserves some extra love and admiration so when I was told we would be given the chance to volunteer to give back to this city I was very excited.

We went to the tram to arrive at a park in the Oltrarno district. Once we met the Angeli del Bello organization we soon got to work. We separated into groups and some of us pulled weeds around the sidewalks, but most of us painted large brick benches that were covered in graffiti. I was one of the people painting the benches. I was thrilled to be painting because first of all, I just enjoy painting, and also because it made me feel like I was accomplishing something or meeting an end goal. I was painting this bench to beautify the park so the people of Florence could walk past and enjoy their view. I know it is only a small accomplishment, but knowing I can give back to Florence, even in a minuscule way, means a lot to me. It also was just an added bonus that yesterday's weather was gorgeous, sunny with clear skies, which only made everyone in an even more cheerful mood as we were giving back.

I really think that the volunteer work was incorporated into my time here studying abroad again, because it is truly a humbling experience to help a community that does more for me than I realize. I'm furthering my knowledge of Italian language, culture and history, but also learning about life in general and how I'm just one person and the world does not revolve around me in Richmond, Kentucky. I have always been a person that feels better knowing I'm making a difference, whether that may be helping out a friend, family member, or standing up for what I believe in, it gives me a sense of purpose and fulfillment. Though, I know I am always capable of doing more. I believe there is never enough goodness you can project into the world and even though you might feel you aren't making a difference, you have no idea the ripple effect your one tiny action could make. Hopefully, I can carry this sense of purpose back with me and really be more proactive with "giving back" at home. I truly had one of the best days here in Florence yesterday and part of it was due to the volunteer work. I will cherish it always.

Today, we had the privilege of listening to the distinguished pediatrician Dr. Sarti give us a talk on families and the impact parents and doctors themselves have on children and the parents roles in their child's life. He talked about that we as a society should focus less on giving parents "techniques" on how to raise and nurture your child, but more just let the parents sense what their child needs or desires and use their natural instincts to care for them. I found this quite interesting because I would not have guessed a doctor would tell you not to listen to their techniques, and to go with your gut feeling. I thought it was a very cool approach to parenthood and not one most people would find as a sound practice. He also discussed how Italians are dying out due to more and more Italian men and women having children later in their life, around 35-40 years of age. He joked that fathers are not fathers any more, but grandfathers. I never thought of this way, but can understand how that can be a little confusing for the child. He jokingly told us that we should start having kids now to evade this, but I think I can accept my fate as a mom-grandma! I also see parallels in this phenomenon with U.S. men and women. Like I just mentioned myself, I would rather wait to have kids and experience life more through travel and independence without the responsibility of children. I think this is due to the fact that more people are becoming very career driven and almost a little self-absorbed, only worrying the needs they want satisfied in the present. Also, I think it has something to do with the higher cost of living. Many people do not want to bring a child into this world if they do not feel they can financially support it. I found his lecture very fascinating, and although it is not a topic I have ever researched on my own, I thought he raised very interesting questions. Even though the United States and Italy are oceans apart, fundamentally we are not much different from one another.



Until Next Time!



CIAO!



Steps-

1.15 - 15,098

1.16 - 7,983

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb