Catania...Gole dell’ Alcantara - Taormina...Catania


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Catania
October 5th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CataniaCataniaCatania

Sunrise in Catania
Friday 19th September
Catania

We had the best night’s sleep without Licodia’s nightly hoons on their vespas and cars!!We decide that Friday had to be a lazy day because I was so behind on the blog and we were all very tired after our stay with family.

We discovered that the cabin, while very nicely decorated, didn’t have a toaster or coffee cups (but had 2 italian percolators and cute little expresso cups!) So my Mum was ingenious and gave us deep soup bowl for our coffee. It was great! Because the second cup of coffee never taste as good as the first but everyone craves a second cup of coffee!!! We had brioches and bread that Zia Vincenzia had given us for the trip. So we decided to pan fry them for our breakfast. With endless coffee, hot sweet brioche and great views our stay in Catania was off to a fabulous start!!

My Dad was eager to do a bit of fishing, so with a bit of line he managed to scrap together and a hook he found from somewhere, he started fishing! Kurt and Joshua went exploring and I was a bit nervous to see
CataniaCataniaCatania

Josh on his journel
Joshua racing up and around those bit ragged lava rocks, just metres and in some cases centimetres away from the sea.

(The night before I’d asked for additional cutlery, crockery, pillows and blankets because the cabin while equipped for 4 was short for 6 people. My Mum had later gone to ask for a bigger pot and colander. Unfortunately the lady when asked said the cabin was fully equipped for 6 people but my Mum insisted there was nothing big enough to boil pasta for 6 people! The lady got really annoyed and in a Sicilian dialect, shouted across to another staff member that my Mum, the lady from cabin 19 was complaining AGAIN! But this time my mum surprised them and answered back, also in a Sicilian accent, that she wasn’t being a pain but they hadn’t done their job properly!!

When she came back and told us, she was still fuming!! )

Saturday 20th September
Gole dell’ Alcantara - Taormina

When we woke up we decided to go to Taormina instead of Mt Etna because it was very cloudy. The drive was lovely and we drove through heaps of pretty little towns. In Licodia,
CataniaCataniaCatania

Katelyn with Zia Enzas Jam.
Giusey ( short for Giuseppina but pronounced Juicy!) had recommended a place called Gole dell’ Alcantara, a series of lava gorges with water racing through it. You were able to hire rubber pants and boots and walk into the stream and through the gorges and see the most amazing views. But when we’d arrived, it had been raining for two days and was now too dangerous and unpredictable for tourists to walk through. But we were allowed to dip pour feet into the water. Jesus, the water was freezing cold!!! I dipped one toe and thought right, now can say I’ve walked in the Gole dell’ Alcantara!! The kids took off their socks and shoes and happily walked in, while I waited for Joshua’s lips to turn blue!!


We continued to Taormina and had a great lunch of crusty bread rolls, with salami, ham and great cheese. It was so tasty!! Maybe because we developed an appetite after our vigorous activity in the water!!! (Actually before we ate lunch and found a car park that allowed us to enter with our 9 seater van, we accidently drove into Taormina, no I don’t mean on the outskirts of this
CataniaCataniaCatania

Sheering Joshua
beachside village, or in the nearby car park, I mean into the town centre which didn’t allow cars down its tiny windy road only people!!! We discovered this only by accidently driving through, seeing no other cars around and nearly running people over like something out of Indiana Jones!!!

I don’t remember my trip to Taormina 20 years ago, and so I found it enchanting. I know it was a major tourist town and packed with tourists but it was so pretty with loads of designer stores and souvenir shops. The views were amazing and we caught a cable car down to a lower section where we could see the hotel my parents previously stayed in. Everyone went down the local beach for a quick walk, but I couldn’t bear the idea of walking up and down heaps of stairs and then walk up the roads of Taormina. So I sat and watched the world go by!

As we walked up back through Taormina, we stopped and saw a wedding, beautiful dressed people, catering vans, official with walkie talkies and sheets of paper and we decided to stay and watch. Actually my Mum, Katelyn and I decided to
CataniaCataniaCatania

Dad in the Playground
stay and see what the bride looked like. It seemed that a lot of people thought the same way. So when the bride and groom finally emerged from the church, there were heaps and heaps of tourists taping. It was lovely and everyone clapped with the confetti and streamers went flying into the crowd. For anyone interested the bride looked lovely with an old fashion Grace Kelly style dress. As we walked back to our van, we saw two more bridal parties walking through Taormina. It was lovely.

Sunday 21th September....our last day in Catania...and Sicily.
Catania


We cleaned up and decided to spend our last day in Catania exploring the city centre. We’d organised to leave our van in the camp car park and headed off to the bus stop. As we walked down a lane way, we passed some beautiful homes; they weren’t beautiful in a modern and sleek way. These homes were big, with ivy and lush trees, balconies for every window and very elegant like the movies, “Life under the Tuscan Sky.” Or the Russel Crowe movie, “A Beautiful Year”.

A lady near the bus stop gave us advice; to watch our
CataniaCataniaCatania

The Shack!
pockets and wallets. Great! As the bus moved thru Catania and into the city we were pleasantly surprised by how attractive the city looked. The bus travelled down the main street and alongside we saw a market and then we realised it was the big market held in Catania we were told about. It was the biggest market in Sicily and it looked huge!!

But we got off at the end of the line and started at the Piazza del Duomo, a World Heritage Site. I definitely felt like I was standing in a piazza in Italy when I looked around at the surrounding buildings. I liked the smiling Fontana dell’Elefante, Cantania’s most memorable monument and the symbol of the city. Legend has it the elephant possess magical powers that keep Mt Etna calm.

We made our way down the main streets of Catania in an attempt to reach this great market we glimpsed during the bus ride. As we approached the market, I felt like I was starting to drool with vision of E2, E5 and E10 clothing stands. The market was incredible and we decided we’d meet at the end if anyone got lost. There was
CataniaCataniaCatania

Josh and Myself.
jewellery, music, shoes, clothing and bags stands. (When I went with Angela to the Vizzini market, I saw a beautiful and usual red bag and hesitated to buy it, thinking like everything at these markets I’d see it again. Well, I felt like I was still looking for it in Catania because I hadn’t it since and I regretted not buying it.) I still didn’t find it….

Anyway, in the morning we closed the suitcases and packed the van. We were worried about the weight in Catania! So when I saw a cute striped little vest, I knew Kurt would probably burst a major blood vessel, if I asked him to open the suitcase. So do you know what I did? Being the cool and innovative chick I am, I just put the vest on over my t-shirt and suddenly looked very chic in down town Catania!!!

We walked on a bit further and I didn’t go crazy buying stuff because I knew there was heaps to see when suddenly……. the worst possible thing happened!!!!!!We’d gotten complacent and forgotten the one main thing about shopping in Italy!!! Everything bloody shuts down at lunch time! So there we were
CataniaCataniaCatania

Dad looking at a cave made by the water.
looking down the market that was anywhere from 800metres to 1km long, and it was closing. I was so annoyed.

Then the urgency turned to lunch!!! We had to buy some bread before the bakeries closed as well. Luckily we moved into the produce section of the market which was still open, and raced to a bakery. We bought some fresh crusty baby rolls and then had to find somewhere to eat. The main section of Catania was great but the rest was like anywhere else in the world, bit dirty, high building and nowhere to eat, so we walked in the direction of the bus station hoping to find a park. Kurt was trying to take us to the beach but we detoured and found the park (If you hear Kurt’s version, the park was his intention all the time!!)

When we finally found the park, it was worth it! There was a lovely water fountain, playground and loads of chairs. So we sat and had a simple lunch of peaches, grapes and beautiful bread. I don’t know if Kurt would classify that lunch as beautiful but the rest of us did! O.K maybe only my parents
CataniaCataniaCatania

Mum decided to come to the playground for a wander.
and I!!!

At the bus station when we’d left, we’d seen a Chinese restaurant and Kurt had had visions of rice all day (especially after his lunch!!) But when we arrived at the restaurant it was closed and we were told it wouldn’t open till after 6.00pm. That wouldn’t normally be a problem but we had to collect the car by 7.00pm and make it to the airport by 7.45pm to check in for our departure at 9.45pm. Assuming everything went to plan.

If this restaurant opened at 6.00pm and that was a big IF, we would be lucky to get out and make our 20min walk back to the car. Did I mention the sky was darkening by the minute and Kurt wanted to go and collect the car which would save us time going to collect it? But the chance of Kurt getting a car park in Catania the way they parked was very unlikely. People just stopped their car along the road and parked, therefore blocking in two cars already parked. IF Kurt had found a park, and then someone had blocked him in, how the hell would be get tho the airport in
CataniaCataniaCatania

Dinner time
time????

Luckily for us the owner arrived early and we told them we needed a quick dinner and that’s what we got. We ordered our dishes (E4, 5, 6) with plain rice (E1) and then were told that the plain rice would take 1 hour to cook, therefore we’d need to order the Cantonese rice. Not a problem! My Dad loved his prawn (Italian style) and his serves of Cantonese rice!! We ordered heaps of rice because the serves were small and strangely enough the rice arrived before the dishes.

When it came to paying, we were staggered to find out the Cantonese rice was three times the price of the plain rice!!! E3 instead of E1!!! No wonder they served it up early which meant we ate it and ordered more!!

After dinner, we walked back to the car park and headed to the airport.
Our problem was that we had to find the Hertz rental place and return the van, but Kurt had to drop us off with all our luggage first!! Our concern was that we couldn’t check in without Kurt and we had no idea where the rental place was and how long it would take Kurt to walk to the departure terminal.

As we approached departures, and the traffic was crazy, I got out asking for directions to Hertz. Kurt parked further up and my Dad and I started to get two trolleys.

Out of nowhere came Giuseppe, Angela, Zio Nunzio and the girls. There was a lot of confusion because they wanted to greet us and we were concerned about getting the luggage out of the van as soon as possible because the van was too wide for cars to pass and therefore cars were honking Kurt!!!

Finally we made it inside and said our hellos. Zio Nunzio’s family had driven all the way from Licodia and arrived at the airport at 5.00pm and brought dinner with them!!!!.

Earlier we’d checked in our luggage but unfortunately we would not be able to take on the retractable fishing rods (bought at the market) as hand luggage and we’d left it too late to send it with our normal luggage, so they had to go on their own. As soon as my Dad heard that, he began slowly shaking his head and predicted we never see those rods again!!
CataniaCataniaCatania

Another Curry Moment....


Anglea didn’t believe us when we said we had just eaten and had bought lovely pastries filled with spinach, and flat pies filled with mozzarella, prosciutto and eggplants. She even bought cups and drinks.

We were standing around just outside the airport doors on a seat that we’d made own by laying out food and drinks, when someone commented on a very long queue just inside the airport doors. We looked to see where the line ended and it was the section where the carryon luggage is x rayed. The line was so long that we realised we’d have to cut short our chatting and also get into line. We did and the line was so slow and now we started to worry about getting on the plane in time.

Finally we made it thru but not before my Mum’s bag was checked and
Kurt’s lap top bag was checked. The lap top had to go thru separately but Kurt thought the girl behind the screen had the hots for him and wanted to watch him walk around!!!! (He must have been so high from all the sugar in the pastries and drink!!)

As we approached
CataniaCataniaCatania

A Turkey Curry!
our gate the queue had already started so we just got in line. Once we entered the runway corridor (not sure what is called?!) the queue if possible slowed down even more to the point that the pilot was waving to us.

We got in and settle down and had a good flight.

When we arrived at Frankfurt airport, like sheep we all filed down to baggage claim to collect our worldly possessions. We had no problems collecting the luggage but when the people started thinning out and the luggage stopped arriving and we were still without our red fishing rods, I knew we were in trouble.

So I went to see a member of staff who advised me to see Bulky Baggage. There I saw a lot of umbrellas, and odd shaped luggage lying about and it gave me hope. But there were no red rods. A staff member dressed like a luggage handler came around the corner and I asked him about my rods. He explained with no English, that the plane was empty and there was nothing else. He spoke into his walkie talkie and signalled he’d be back.

A few minutes later my Dad walked up and I explained the little I knew. The baggage handler came back and said sorry, no luggage, go to lady and pointed to the counter I’d just come from. Ugh!!

So back we went and by this stage it was about 1.30am and we’re all feeling very tired and irritable. The lady explained that the rods mustn’t have left Catania! Right next to me, I could feel my Dad seething…. She went on to explain, that that Catania’s staff would look for missing luggage but for missing fishing rod....she didn’t think they’d waste their time looking. I was aghast!!Wouldn’t even look? What did that mean? My fishing rods were missing…where were they?! I could fill in a report but she doubted very much I get them back. (Well I filled in the damn report and I’m typing this a week later and they haven’t arrived!!) Boy, if my Dad was dark on Italian before, now he was ropable and I was so glad we were in Germany and not in some part of Italy where some unsuspecting poor Italian would get eaten alive by my Dad in the mood he was in.

Outside Kurt, my Mum and the kids were waiting looking for a maxi cab. No chance. So we hoped into two different taxis and made our way to Motel 1, same as our Formula 1 but much better décor!! During the day Kurt had rang up and was given the reservation numbers to access the room after closing hours.

He’d given me the reservation numbers to access the doors and I tried for ages to type in the numbers. Kurt meanwhile spoke to the 2 Indian taxi drivers, who he thought had spoken in Hindi and tried to rip us off!!! We paid nearly $60each for a 20 minute ride!!!

Finally he arrived and tried, by then the kids and me were crowding around making lots of useless suggestions because he really likes that and finds it useful!!
It was 2.30am by then and we were exhausted so he just purchased another room and said he’d deal with it in the morning. But even that reservation number wouldn’t work!!!! So I looked around for a telephone number to call and so did Kurt and it was then that I heard Kurt crack up!!! Behind me was the key pad we were supposed to use, but I’d been covering it up the whole time. You can just imagine how understanding Kurt was at 2.30am…..

So we got in and the staff member that Kurt had spoken to earlier had given us a complimentary room on the ground floor to leave our entire luggage rather than carrying all of it to the next floor without an elevator.

We got into our rooms, got undressed, and slept. It had been a very long day…….





Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 34


Advertisement

Gole dell’ Alcantara Gole dell’ Alcantara
Gole dell’ Alcantara

Floaties from the canyon!
Gole dell’ Alcantara Gole dell’ Alcantara
Gole dell’ Alcantara

it was a steep climb up
Gole dell’ Alcantara Gole dell’ Alcantara
Gole dell’ Alcantara

They were eager enouth to get their feet wet.....It was Freezing!


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb