A Day at Sea aboard the Epic


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia
July 7th 2014
Published: August 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Cruising the Mediterranean today, I slept in and ordered a room service continental breakfast to enjoy on the deck. I was overwhelemed by the sheer number of things to do at any given time, and maybe jet lag or maybe just on overload, I opted instead for some quiet time at Spice H2O pool. There were lots of families with children back there, Nickelodean movies playing on the big screen almost all day. Perhaps a little too much time elapsed between arriving and putting on my sunscreen, as I ended the session with a slight sunburn around the edges. My afternoon plan was the spa for a Musclease wrap, but because of the burn, the therapist recommended a milk bath wrap instead. It was done on the float table, which cocoons you in water, leaving you calm and refreshed. That was followed with a shower, ensuite, and a full body massage I left the spa completely refreshed, and my sunburn was calmed. That night I had dinner at Cagney’s Steakhouse. The wait staff was lovely, my filet wonderful and sides great, but the ambiance was off. There was no music playing in the restaurant, which I though odd, and down below in the Manhattan Room a group of singers and dancers were performing, I could see, but not hear them. It would have been nice to hear that live music in the steak house, or at least ANY music along with dinner.

Each night after dinner, I walked the length of the ship on decks 6 & 7. In each lounge there was different entertainment, duos and solo singers, very talented, with audiences seemingly enjoying themselves. Blue Man Group is a MUST SEE. The reservation system showed every show I wanted to see as full, but I had no trouble standing by at the door 10 minutes before show time and getting in. Legends in Concert was entertaining, the woman singing Shakira was sensational, though maybe not for kids. Prince was very entertaining and had a way of getting the crowd involved. There were small clubs with a comedy show, Beatles impersonators who were terrific, Howl at the Moon, dueling pianos, started later than I could stay up, with my intensive itinerary of shore excursions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb