il primo giorno


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche
June 1st 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Allie and meAllie and meAllie and me

AALLLEEE-ie
So, initially, we all met up at the airport. Naturally, the first person I met was another TEXAN. Funniest story from meeting up there is when I met Allie from Chicago. Oh Allie, pictured here with me in front of the forum in Rome (much, much later in the trip). When Allie introduced herself to me... my response was "What?" "Allie..." "WHAT??" "ALLIE" "What is your name? how do you spell that?...man I am going to have a hard time pronouncing that one." To give me credit, she was saying AAAALLLLEEEE --- ie. It was impossible! Well, anyway. The coolest part about the 8 hour trek to Italy (leaving NYC 5pm, arriving Italy 7am) was that we saw a sunset, and a few hours later, a sunrise. Thank God I was exhausted from NYC that I believe I was asleep before the plane even took off.
Once we arrived in Italy, and after the hour long wait (the first of many to come) waiting for making a claim for two lost bags, we hit the bus for our 3 hour-ish trek across Italy from Rome to Numana. Numana was a small, sleepy beach town off the Adriatic. I loved it -- although when we first arrived we were defintely skeptical. The weather was overcast and there was NO ONE on the beaches (defintely not the beach season in Italy). Nonetheless -- the beach was beautiful. I absolutely looooove the beach -- even though those little rocks were quite painful to walk on -- my poor pink lil' toes! Nothing will ever beat the sandy beautiful beaches of Cozumel, Mexico (which I love). But then again, look at that view we had from the water! In the end -- it was a great place to have our hotel. We got to the hotel that evening with enough time to walk around before dinner there. Every night, we ate dinner at the hotel (which was interesting) -- my favorite part -- gli antipasti! After dinner, the hotel put on a "cabaret" -- a peculiar thing. Something no one will ever, ever understand unless they have seen it. However, it ended well, for Adriana and I called over the boys for a picture (see below), which was the beginning of an tumultuous journey of our group meeting the hotel employees. However eccentric, meeting people was the best part of the vacation for me. My random decision to take an Italian class for fun my freshmen year turned out to be the best (and, oddly, at the time, pointless) one I've ever made. After several very interesting conversations, we called it a night around 2 or 3 (what...10 am TX time?), and got some shut eye (ha!) before our next, first excursion nelle Marche, Italia.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Pink Toes on a Rocky BeachPink Toes on a Rocky Beach
Pink Toes on a Rocky Beach

before my pedicure was demolished by the Italian excursions


25th June 2007

Hmmmm
All these pictures and not a single one of me. I'm more than a little disappointed! Just kidding, this website rocks. Miss ya!

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb