The First 2 Weeks


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » San Felice del Benaco
September 7th 2011
Published: September 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So after an early morning flight from London Gatwick to Verona, I stepped off the plane into the absolutely scorching 35 degree heat. As it was only 11 o clock it was clear that it was going to be very hot!

After passing through the most ridiculous passport check ever (he looked at the front of my passport, saw it said uk and let me in) I was met by Andrea, the holidaybreak area assistant who drove me to my campsite.

Before even arriving, I was taken to the depot to collect my (somewhat...erm...fashionable..) keycamp uniform before being driven to Lidl to pick up some food to last me the week. I then arrived at Camping Europa Silvella, San Felice del Benaco where I was shown into my accomodation and within 2 minutes of arriving, I was put to work! I was given a quick tour of the campsite by Phil, the senior courier on site and then introduced to my tentmate, Ada from Poland. She showed me how to clean a mobile home before showing me some of the customer orientated parts of the job.

The days tend to follow a similar structure:
8.45am- meeting/given cleaning tasks
9am- mobile home /tent cleans
3pm- reception duties/ dealing with arrivals
6pm- ECO takes over (basically the oncall courier for the night)

On quieter days there tends to be a couple of hours between cleaning and reception so when the suns out its off to the pool or down to the lake.

The cleaning is a bit shit to be honest (we have to be ridiculously thorough) but the customer stuff is ok ....until it rains.

We had a huge storm and plenty more rain over about 3 days and when its raining customers (especially those in tents) like nothing more than to complain about the weather! especially the germans for some reason. But more importantly, our tents flooded in the "gaza strip" (its called that because the area the couriers live in is barren wasteland not fit for customer use with old tents and stuff, plus we have a neighbouring dispute with the campsite next door) and we had about 4 inches of rain through the whole area including inside the tents (so much for 710 euro a month accomodation!)

But on the whole its not too bad, especially when the suns shining! I'll write about my trips places soon when i have a better internet connection!

Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb