I think I needed the difficulty.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Monza
November 11th 1999
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

No, it isn't regret at all. I don't believe that there is a perfect place. I will probably not stay in this country because it is just very difficult financially, and just doing things is hard. But, i don't think true happiness is about a place. I definitely am glad that I came and things are becoming progressively easier. Also, my real hopes about the trip are being realized. I am so happy to be traveling and seeing this beautiful place. We have gone to Paris, Verona, Como, Milano (of course), and we have a huge three week trip taking adventure ahead of us during the holidays which will include Venice, Florence and Rome. Plus, there is a holiday coming up in a few weeks that we will be taking advantage of--we just haven't decided where to go yet!

I feel like my priorities are being adjusted and that I will love my country so much more than I ever could have had I not come. Perhaps i will never leave, but I doubt it. I couldn't have rested in the US without having come here so really this is the key to my happiness (I think) and I am basically happy now. I am happy that I am not trapped by the seduction of ease in a lucrative but boring job anymore and that things are difficult. I think I needed the difficulty. I also think that my way of thinking is being expanded even just with the ideas housed in the Italian language. I feel as if I am gaining a perspective on living that I might have had to wait years to
gain otherwise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb