Feeling the space: A letter to Ryan


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Monza
July 9th 1999
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear Ry,

I am sitting here at an old fashioned writing desk which I have adopted for my work. I am smoking a clove cigarette that I brought from the US as I write to you. The french doors are wide open and there is a cool breeze coming in through them.

I have no alarm clock so I woke up without pressure. I got up and opened the doors to the great wardrobe that covers most of the length of the bedroom wall to figure out what I could wear that would look presentable, be comfortable and not too hot.

I discovered that it was only 8:00, so I left the house and walked down a couple blocks to have a
cappucinno (or cappuccio as they call them here). I stood at the bar alone and drank my cappucio. As I headed back home, I passed a pasticerria and decided to see what they had this morning. I got 6 rolls (don't know what they are called) and 2 brioche (croissant) for Charlotte and I.

They were really nice to me when I apologized for not understanding what they were asking and I said I was learning italian. They asked if I spoke English and I said yes. They said, 'Italian can be a little difficult' and I said it was hard for me to understand what people say. Then another customer said that it was easier than learning english (I think..).

Then I passed the farmacia and I stopped in to get something to clean my glasses, which of course I didn't know the word for. I learned it from the lady behind the counter - gli occhiali. Then, I passed a newsstand and bought a map of milan and with that final purchase headed home.

Being alone in the apartment is nice--I haven't had time to explore or do these little things by myself before...I like it. I am very heartened by the incredible luck I have been having.

Yesterday, my contract was signed by the University and I have it in hand. I asked them to make my contract dates from 1 august to 30 September. Though that won't allow me to get paid until October, I figured that the dates were more important for the visa than cash flow.

Meanwhile, Pier is going to have to ask favors of some friends for the letters of interest. He also has a friend who is a notary so when I offered to pay the $300 to have it notarized, he said he thought he could do it for free. I do need, however, one thing in order to get paid the money from this first contract--I am sorry to have to ask you to do yet another thing on top of everything else....I need you to contact a local tax office (whoever is nicest is fine...) and ask them to sign a letter that says I am a permanent resident of Durham, NC, I pay taxes in the US and I don't have a work office in Italy. You should probably get one for yourself as well. BTW, the yearly tax on tv's is under $100. Not enough to stop us from getting one.

Have I warned you not to expect much with this apt.? Did I mention that the kitchen is made for munchkins? I don't know who bought this stuff, but the woman had to be 4 feet tall at the most. Everything is iddy biddy. Widdle biddy stove, widdle biddy oven, widdle biddy fridge, widdle biddy table. Really tall ceilings.
I love you and miss you sooo much. I can't wait for you to join me here.

Love,
J







Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb