Up and ready for another day of seeing sights


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
October 28th 2009
Published: October 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a resting day. I was just beat. Ive been trying to study as much as possible and also to see the beautiful sights here in Milano. I have seen some amazing things so far and feel so lucky. I go home and Ernesto educates me further on the history. He doensàt like using the cool dictionary he bought but Siria and I really use it just about all the time. He mutters something shakes his head and kind of shuffles out of the room. I agree it is frustrating to not be able to converse naturally. However it is what it is and Siria starts these conversations here and there and before you know it I am hearing abou the family health issues, or the personal troubles of the people in the family. Itàs so funny because I know Ernesto is listening in the living room because sometimes weàll hear him holler, no, no siria, it wasnàt that it was this or out of the blue heàll show up in the kitchen with a document or a picture to add to the conversation. so cute really. He came in yesterday with a picture of Serastretta that Iàld never seen before. Ahhhh this is where Maria Grazia lived.....so fun. Yesterday Siria was answering a question i had had about my great grandmother. her maiden name was marasco too but none of the family lore ever touched on her story. Well yesterday i was the happy recipient of more info. Siria tells these things with such heart. She is philosophical in her approach to the mistakes, choices etc people make. She is sooo steady. I really love her. Big smiles, humor all the time but not unkind humor. this morning as I was getting ready to leave i couldnàt find my telefonino....cell phone .....Ernesto was looking and i was looking too. siria just walked into the bathroom where iàd put it to recharge...giggle and again the word for forgetting dementicare...ha...boy you said it. Ernestoàs humor is cute too. I really hate to not see them again for so many months. They always want to know when i will ritorno from my day out -return---oh thats fun too because when ernesto asks me Siria shusshes him as if to say, leave her alone, sheàs an adult. But then she asks me...too cute. But i always tell them because it seems considerate. I mean pranza (lunch) is kind of a big deal. Not as big as Ive seen before but for two older people who really donàt eat much it requires preparation. I donàt want her waiting on me...they really have been so sweet.
Anyway, im rested and ready to go. today i want to see the Brera museum. it is a famous collection of art from the history of Italy. Then I want to go to the Gigantic Cemeteria, cemetary. Iàve always liked cemetaries and this one promises to be really interesting. I remember going to a big one in Boston and seeing the grave markers of well know Americans. This one too I think.
There are amazing churches along the way I want to see too. They are basically every couple of blocks. If the panhandlers stay away from me, it will be a giorno di perfetto.....I really appreciate that American businesses protect their possible customers. They usually donàt accost people, or do they? and iàve just been living in a dream world. I donàt see them anyway.
I would give you pictures but for some reason my computer decided it dowsnàt have the driver necessary to upload pictures. SHeeeesh. I had it but what in a matter of a day, i donàt? I guess that is the way of it. So iàll have to fix it later. Hopefully Iàll have them when i get home. Ciao for now, k

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb