Remembering or not?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In the last couple of days I can feel the Italian language sounding less foreign to my ears. I can listen to the new with Ernesto and kind of follow the gist of what is being said. yesterday was a day that will probably be material to tease me with for a long time. i had lost track of the days. Almost the whole day yesterday I thought it was Sunday. I got up to go to Mass (Messe) and saw there were very few people there. I didnt think much of that because Alberto had told me that most Italians arent religious much anymore. ok, so itàs full of older people (of which I am one!!) then i go home (a casa) and we have pranza (lunch) and Ernesto and Siria are doing their parental duty and getting my schedule straight. they kep saying that i will be calling mio marito a domani (my husband tomorrow) and I kept saying no, mercoladi , ne lunedie. (Tuesday not Monday) they looked at each other and say, pero, oggi e Lunedi.....What? I couldnàt believe it. I forgot my class and was all turned around. They got a big giggle out of that. Last night before bed, Ernesto reminded me to set my alarm clock for 6 donàt forget ! oh brother....i heard Siria on the phone, like 5 minutes later telling someone the funny story....

they live a very spartan life. Ernesto makes my breakfast each moring. With pride he brought out a jar of homemade marmalade (same word in Italiano) with bread and caffe latte. Every morning thatàs what he makes for me. Well, the marmalad is great especially since my aunt in Calabria made it.Maria Grazia. But i was craving a ittle difference especially since he doesnàt toast the bread and itàs kind of stale. the caffe latten is fine but itàs really good in some of the bars (that is where people can get a caffe any time of the day, for the people who have never been to Europe). Thatàs ok, but yesterday i went to a supermercato and bough a tiny container of a spead that tastes like chocolate mised with hazelnumt. mmmmmmm Ernestoàs face this morning was funny.....wasnàt mad exactly more confused...like why when I give her marmalade made of the delicious frutta di Calabria .....??? I just went on and mixed a little of the orange marmalade with the ciocolatto and ummmmmgood.
Thereàs alittle mercato every Tuesday on Ernesto and Sirias street. not so little actually. Fruit and vegetables, underweat, outter wear, antiques, furniture, kitchen stuff fish cheese. Ahhhhh, fantastico!

I hope my classe today is a good one. my husband studies his Spanish all the time, and i can see why now. i fully appreciate his expert use of the language but i am really understanding how devoted one needs to be to even be able to converse on a very basic level....i can think later of a couple of good things i could have said, but when a real person talks to me, my first response isnàt Italiano, i hestate and then they look at me like i might be retarded or something and then I i give in a say mio italiano e poco....ahhhh they

One more funny little thing, the word for late is ritardo.....i busted out laughing the other day (which i wondt do again ) when ERnsto was expected at 3 and he didnàt get home until 5. siria says Ernesto tu e ritardo!!!! i still laugh thining of it. He said I know i know.....and he said something i didnàt catch but Siria looked at me and couldnàt figure out the joke.......and of course i couldnàt explain it quickly so i just smiled and went on.....fun

I bring my camera next time and put a few more pictures on if i can remember how to do it. Dementicare is the verb for remember......another kind of funny one.!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb