i here in milano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
October 11th 2009
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

i arrived in milano friday and the process of getting to my uncles home was a crazy one. i have enjoyed the kindness of many people and my uncle and aunt are wonderful to me. the time has been a steady stream of family conversations that i understand and then am totally lost. my italian is hardly growing at all and i hope it will improve soon. i am writing this on an italian keyboad that every time i want to capitalize it looks like the italian accented way. what a mess for you to read. so i am writing without punctuation or capital letters. the family food is so similar to my own that i am happy to report not there is not much cultural shock that way. i have discovered that many italians like american coffee because we can sit with a cup and it lasts for awhile. with a cup of esperesso it is small and more like a shot of whiskey in its size. drink it quickly and thats it. done. they dont like our watery coffee with little flavor but then i tend to agree. i hear that it snowed in omaha and it is summer in milano. 78 or so. i packed for fall so i am a little toasty...but it will change probably soon or at least thats what the famiglia says ....well see. milano isnt a pretty city as many of the cities and towns can be but it is where the work is. many people stay because their families are in italy and they can drive to visit but the work is here in milano. makes sense. i saw a slice of it on the shuttle driving into milano from the plane. very industrial. like chicago, there are pretty parts, old parts etc but there are the industrial parts too. they all want to practice their english which is the opposite of what i want to do....so we compromise a bit. i have to admit it is a relief for a while. my children have told me that the stress of thinking and focusing on the language is stressful and that at times they said their brains hurt ....well my brain doesnt hurt yet but i dont have homework yet. i am sure it will. my children are much better at this than me so i am sure my brain will complain. there are so many things to do and of course i forgot my usb cord to hook up my camera and computer...so the pictures are hopefullly coming as soon as i pick up a cord. funny little things. my aunt doesnt like me to walk around with bare feet. i tried to peel off my shoes in the beginning because of the heat and she made me think that was not ok so i havent again since. i also have to get used to the teeeeny showers again. not easy when she doesnt give towels very often. soooo, i think i need to buy a towel or just get brave and ask. ill let you know what i do. better get off of this computer and get out of my cuginos hair....more later, karin

Advertisement



12th October 2009

hello!
Dont worry mama! the language will come quickly when class starts Im sure. you are very brave to pursue your dreams like this, more ppl should be as adventurous! Hope to skype you soon and maybe meet the cousins via the internet? Love you!
16th October 2009

Italy, yeh
Sounds so good to hear you are there safe and sound, have fun and think of me. J
20th October 2009

i think of you all th time!!
I am having fun if yu donàt count the lack of internet....after all you did to get ready on skype....the family is wonderful to me and i feel so grateful all the time. so good to me! one of these trips i want you to come with me!!
20th October 2009

thanks bambina
your encouragement is appreciated molto molto. lots of thoughts and feelings around me and itàs all good! hope you and J are fine! Papa told me you got a positive from a professor regarding your cutting off a leg. wow. great job honey. so soon and so skilled! im proud of you!!! molto abbracciio mamma

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb