Milano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I experienced some freedom from the Middle East in Milano, Italy. How refreshing it was to see people strolling on the street, driving scooters and bikes of all shapes and sizes and walking their dogs. I wanted to go and play with every single one of them. I haven’t seen a dog for the last 2 months! Now as I’m sitting here in Doha, thinking back, it feels like a dream.

This was my first lay-over flight and the passengers were all nice and the crew was amazing. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. We flew with a new A330 (double isle) for about 6h. When we arrived at the airport, it was cold and raining (we didn’t mind at all after living in dry Doha). We were taken to a bus and 1h later arrived at the nice and quiet Four Points Sheraton Hotel in the middle of Milan. Later some of us went for a drink and something to eat and had great, relaxing fun.

The next morning we arranged to meet up and went sight seeing...while waiting for everyone I wondered down the street and ended up in a typical Italian café. I was surprised with how little English these people spoke and, there is no written English anywhere. Luckily, after listening carefully, Italian started making sense and to my delight… I picked up quite a few words quickly.
Finally some of the crew dragged themselves out of bed and off we went to Duomo Church that is located in the middle of Milan’s shopping district. Wow! Impressive! Massive! Spectacular! I was then told that the people who built the church used one of Jesus’ crucifixion nails… (It is indicated by a small red light, which shines permanently, in the ceiling.)

We had some pasta while watching a student march passing us, protesting about their professors. They were looking at us as if to say: “why are you sitting there, you must join us…” and we answered with a look that said: “what are you on about?”

I had an idea of where I wanted to go and left the rest behind. They went shopping and I took a lift up the Duomo Churches roof where one can see the finer detail of a typical cathedral. Next on my list was the Castello Sforzesco which dates back to the second half of the 14th century. Just past the castle, while walking through a park, I found the Arco Della Pace, but it’s undergoing renovations. The Arc de Peace is linked with the Arc de Triomphe in Paris with a straight line. (Wonderful! Now I have seen both!)
On my way to Cenacolo Vinciano, where one can see the famous painting of Leonardo Di Vinci, “The Last Supper”, I found that the tickets were sold out…but next time!!!

Well, back in my hotel room I rested my feet and tried to take a nap before the late night departure. Going back to the airport everything was arranged and without any glitch we arrived on time and prepared the plane...
Chaio...



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Jesus Crucifixion nailJesus Crucifixion nail
Jesus Crucifixion nail

Red light in the seling...
Cenacolo VinicianoCenacolo Viniciano
Cenacolo Viniciano

Church you will find the Lionardo De Vinci painting of "the last supper"


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb