The LIFE COACH! (and where I'm living!)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
February 20th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kabiro... the life coach!Kabiro... the life coach!Kabiro... the life coach!

Him in his salmon colored sweater and all his glory!
back in time to when I first arrived...

Dave and I *did* have a little scare that I'd miss my plane, but thankfully I didn't and the trip went smoothly. No one HUGE or smelly or hairy or annoying sitting next to me... no wailing babies... I actually had two seats to myself and curled up in a ball and slept the whole time.

After plane, train, and cab I arrived at my current address, Viale Piave 11 where I thought I was subletting an apt. Turns out this 60-some year old was just renting a room/bathroom. Here's the kicker, though... he's a LIFE COACH! Apparently he used to be this big time business man when became interested in meditation and quit his job all together. Anyway, his english is impeccable and he's friendly and helpful. Also a closet-cigarette smoker which I discovered after a couple of days 😊 That sweater he's wearing in the picture... wore it my entire first week! ha. Something else I learned after I'd been here a week is that the " cup of coffee" I'd been making before work was actually a triple espresso- oops. Needless to say, I kept making it!
my favorite barmy favorite barmy favorite bar

self explanatory :)


The area's very happening, and I couldn't believe my eyes when I looked across the street and saw "David BAR"... perfect! (In actuality, I haven't gotten a drink there yet... but I probably will before I leave for good measure 😊)

I walk about 1 block to the tram stop that takes me to work. It's a wonderful time to read and people watch. And let me tell you, the italians LOVE, LOVVVVVVE my danscos. ha- KIDDING! Even the 75 year old men look at my feet and make a funny face. That's absolutely true- it's hilarious.

In terms of alternate forms of transportation... people walk a TON which is why almost everyone is slim... also, here are some fun cars I've glimpsed...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TRAMTRAM
TRAM

ready to start the day...
alfa romeoalfa romeo
alfa romeo

these are everywhere (the pic is for YOU, puneet!)
another VWanother VW
another VW

obviously I'm looking out for a Jetta because I miss my Bianca. I haven't seen one, but I DID seen this super-fun, *blue-violet* VW polo...
smart?smart?
smart?

these little things are fast and they can fit anywhere! also, the thing about walking in italy... you're never afraid you're going to get hit because wherever you are, there's equal risk: cars drive/park on the SIDEWALKS like they're part of the road!!
wedding-mobile?wedding-mobile?
wedding-mobile?

spotted this car parted outside an old castle in milan... wedding or pimp-mobile? ha
looking in...looking in...
looking in...

to the courtyard of the building where I'm staying


12th March 2007

Finally!
Wow! What a great first journal and I am so happy that you are doing it!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb