Road trip part 2 and southern France


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Bormio
August 29th 2014
Published: September 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Continuing the road trip, from Innsbruck we drove to northern Italy through the Stelvio Pass. Boy was that a tough journey in a manual car. The pass consists of 45 hairpin turns up, and another 45 down the mountain, while gaining 2800 m in elevation. It is so scary because when youre making a turn you can't see who is coming your way, and the road is so narrow in some parts that only one car can go at a time. It was a very scary, and incredibly fun drive through the mountains of northern Italy. I can definitely say my skills as a driver of a manual car have greatly improved. It was the ultimate test for myself. That evening (the 25th) we stayed in Santa Caterina, which is just near the bottom of the stelvio pass. It was nothing exciting, just a bed to sleep in pretty much.



On the 26th we continued our road trip onto como, where we stayed for the night before continuing onto Milan on the 27th. Como is an absolutely adorable little town, a bit full with tourist but beautiful none the less. I would have loved to spend more time there doing a bit Of hiking. For dinner I had an amazing gnocchi made with a curry sauce, accompanied by a more amazing negroni. It was an amazing dinner. In Milan I did plenty of shopping and touring around while Jay relaxed in the hotel. Shopping in Milan as a young girl is very dangerous on your own. And by dangerous I mean I spent way too much money. I barely have enough room in my bag anymore! Totally worth it.

So Milan concluded our road trip, from the it was off to Nice for me, while Jay went off to Switzerland on his own, on the 28th I took a train to Nice, which took practically the whole day. That evening I stayed in at the hostel drinking wine with some of my new friends. It was a relaxed and wonderful evening. The hostel I stayed at was called the Meyerbeer beach hotel. it was very clean and comfortable, place, and only five minutes walk from the beach.i was very very happy.

August 29th was spent all day on the beach in Nice. Unfortunately it's a pebble beach, which isn't the best. But at least it prevents sand from getting everywhere. That evening I took myself out for dinner to a restaurant recommended to me by my bestie called Mama's. It is a Greek restaurant, but it is the bat food I have had on my vacation thus far. I had a Greek ravioli with mushrooms and artichoke cooked in a baksamic vinegar and paprika sauce. It was divine! I should have asked for the recipe. And the host was simply charming. I went for dinner quite early so I was his only customer at the time and we had the most wonderful time chatting for two hours. I would 200% recommend the restaurant to anyone and I would go back Every time.

Well that's all for now folks! I will soon update you with my time in EsoaƱa! Xoxoxo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb