Day 25 - The Fabulous Cinque Terre


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
November 3rd 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Clean sheets and hot water.... a good sleep, a quick expresso (I still need sugar to get me through that) and off to the station for breakfast (which we thought was included in our hotel tariff.. but no). Then on the train to Cinque Terre. I was soooooo excited. Unfortunately there were high winds and low cloud and a sprinkling of rain so we haven't seen it at it's best but hey, we've seen the five towns. Amazing that a woman from Fielding (me) and a bloke from Hastings (him) met Lance, a young lad from Foxton! Great to chat with him and he's just qualified as a builder so now has our contact for a possible job with our Greg when he returns for his travels. There were tears at the first of the villages (and not tears of joy) when I discovered the camera hadn't charged overnight. I couldn't delete the zillion photos I had downloaded to the ipad cos I didn't know whether or not I had deleted them from the card (which was back at the hotel) 😞 But my wonderful ipad came through again, and the entire day was captured on the ipad. A long and fabulous day with pizza, vino and beer in the last village before returning back to La Specia Centrale. The CT lived up to everything I thought it would be. Just so amazing and each village so different. Very few cars. The walking track between villages was closed (truly! that's not an excuse) and the boats had finished running for the year, which was a shame as I am sure seeing at least one of the villages from the sea would have added to the experience. CT is definitely worth a visit, or two, or three.... Back to the hotel to rest our feet and out into the town for a delicious Dorothy pizza (cream, sweet corn and ham), and pollo (chicken) and salad and a litre of beautiful house wine. Reminder to self. Don't use hole in the ground squat toilets at train stations. Urkkkkkk.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb