Thomas the tank engine...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
November 2nd 2005
Published: November 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Forgot to tell you,

On the way home last night, we got on a train which we thought was the express, turns out it wasn't. So, while being bored to death waiting for the train to start up again, I wandered off down to the front to ask the driver how long it would take...(I'd had a couple of Peroni's by this stage)

Long story short, the driver asked me if I wanted to have a drive of the train!!

ARE YOU SERIOUS!!!!!

So here I am, between San Margherita and Levanto, driving a Trenitalia Train!!!!

I can tell you now, its not that hard. There are two levers, one is the 'go lever' and one is the brake. Not like theres a wheel or a clutch is there?

So for about 40kms I was driving this big old train, incedible. The driver barely spoke english, I barely spoke Italian, but he still let me drive this $4million machine for a bit, how cool is that!

Anyway, after mastering the signals and speeds, I remembered I had left Jules back down in one of the carriages....oops! So I hung up my Train Drivers cap and headed back down the train....

"Where have you been??!!"

"No where special, just.....DRIVING THE TRAIN!!!!!!"

Coolest night ever....



Advertisement



8th November 2005

that has to be your answer everytime she asks where u have been from this day onward... "Just driving the train"

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb