A Minor Excursion (With Some Climbing) 77km


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Riccione
September 13th 2017
Published: September 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_8179IMG_8179IMG_8179

Confusing Signage
After yesterday's Grand Tour I really didn't think it would be a good idea to go out for the hard ride proposed for the combined Limoncino and Cappuccino Super groups, so I opted for the milder Cappuccino ride. Apparently this was quite a popular sentiment, as so many people signed up for this level that they had to split us into 3 groups to make things more manageable. We had 15 in ours, and while there didn't seem to have been an official selection process our group was strong enough that I think our leader (Micol) decided to take us over a few climbs that some others avoided.

Surprisingly these were steeper than I had anticipated (14-16%), albeit brief (on the order of 1-2 km), including one memorable stretch on a very trafficky and winding road that started off 16% at before kicking up to 18% for the final push to the roundabout at the top.

Limited by the desire to be back at the hotel by 2:00 so those interested could take a bus trip to San Marino (I believe we were originally scheduled to have ridden there on Sunday but that destination was replaced by a more
IMG_8181IMG_8181IMG_8181

We've seen a lot of this sort of thing
moderate one due to weather), and owing to several stoppages due to flats, today's ride was even shorter than the advertised 93km, but I think the supplemental climbing compensated for the lack of distance.

As usual, though, there weren't many opportunities to take photographs, and when I did I started getting 'low battery' warnings. These subsequently disappeared so I'm not sure what to think. In fact, having inadvertently switched to 'continuous shooting' mode when I later pulled the camera from my pocket I managed to prove that the battery still had enough juice in it to take more shots than I had taken prior to that point.

It seems this will be another one of those trips where memories will have to suffice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

IMG_8186IMG_8186
IMG_8186

Me and my climbing buddy Joe in the piazza at Santarcangelo di Romagna
IMG_8204IMG_8204
IMG_8204

More scenery


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb