Sant'Angello, Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri... "Ciò è la vita..."


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ciao everyone... it's been so long!! A number of things have kept me from writing, but I am hopeful that my faithful audience will tune in now that I'm back...

First a word from our sponsor: The Society for the Preservation of Italian Men.

I can put it no better than Shane... "Even the Italian male mannequins have six packs." Long live Italian men!!

And now, back to our regularly scheduled programming.

After some time on my own I was anxious to meet up with my friends Janelle and Neal from Hazelton. They had invited me to join them for a few days in Sorrento, just outside of Naples, and I was so excited to have the opportunity to explore the area with them.

I got to the airport early, fearful of train strikes or delays, and while looking for the loo I ran into Neal and Janelle having cappucinos! They got there early too, having been up for many, many hours, having been rained out of their tent near Lake Como. We had a great breakfast and got caught up on what each other had been doing. We were talking so much that we ended up waiting at the wrong gate and almost missed boarding our flight. It was so great to see them!

We flew to Naples and caught a shuttle to Sant'Angello ("Sant Anne-Yellow", a suburb of Sorrento - or at least right there :-) Janelle had planned everything and knew where to go and what to do, it was such a relief!

We found our home for the next few days - Hotel Angelina - a completely, completely charming and quiet hotel down a wonderful cobblestone street. It was situated in the midst of orange and lemon trees, large, deep pink and purple blooming bougainvillaea (?), it had a tiled patio where one could sit and enjoy the evening, at one of the tables or on the swing... it had a lovely breakfast room (more on breakfast later... I'm drooling on the keyboard)... I was even more pleased to meet "Pablo" .... "Paulo" ....

Uh-oh. You'll have to wait on meeting Pablo/Paulo, the Internet place is closing and I have to go!

I'm back in Monterosso for 2 nights and plan to hike the other three villages tomorrow (Riomaggiore, Manorola, Corniglia), lay on the beach, eat more good food (and gelato).

I will attempt to catch up before I leave Italy on Friday :-) I hope everyone is well!

I have had just an amazing experience (many, many amazing experiences) but am looking forward to getting back.

Take good care. Bacioni (big kisses), Melanie

Advertisement



16th August 2006

Wonderful!!
Hey Melanie, so nice to hear from you again. I was thinking of you and wonder when will I hear more about your trip, and here you're. I'm so glad to continue hearing your wonderful trip. Is Carolyn with you now? Please say hi to Shane, Kim, Carolyn... I'm leaving for Uganda on Sat. Pls stay in touch and I'll do the same too! love Elsie
16th August 2006

Pablo ?
So there is some hope of Italian dna in the family ? Here I,ve been waiting five weeks for even a little hint of a man, then you leave the true story hanging ! It better be good, or I may just take Tessy apart again. Cheers, and it will be good to have you home for a few days.
16th August 2006

On your way
Just got back from Hazelton and saw Neal and Janelle on the road. So happy that you met up withthem andhad such a great time! can't wait to here about Paublo/Paulo! Miss you tons! See you soon!
17th August 2006

Wow, Pablo???
and it's a TOO BE CONTINUED ??? how rude!! hehe I surely hope you are taking lots of pictures on all these fancy adventures you are enjoying. Although, words are nearly as good as a picture!! Take and hope you travel safe....
25th August 2006

Cliffhanger!
Your blogs are like novelettes...so fabulous to read. I don't have access to internet very often so I have to catch up when I get a chance. Like Becky, I'm anxious to hear about Paublo/Paulo. Can't wait to see the pics!

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb