Sorrento (Day 92)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
August 11th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

beachbeachbeach

how to get down to the beach
The hostel I am in is actually about a 30 minute walk from downtown Sorrento, not that there is much of a downtown. The coast is home to a bunch of small towns here that just kind of flow together. Walked over to Sorrento to start off my day. It's kind of what I expected. Pretty little town situated right on the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Naples. From my understanding it's not the most spectacular town on the Amalfi Coast nor the most beautiful but it's a good base. And if this is as bad as it gets then I am pretty excited to see the rest. I had wanted to go to the beach after walking around town for a bit but it's no easy task because of the cliffs. Most of the town is 100-200 feet above the sea so even when you think you are close to the beach you still have quite a descent to get down there. Found a good beach spot near the hostel to relax at.

Layed out on this pier next to the beach where it was not so crowded which was nice. Just a bunch of kids running off the pier and diving into the water below which I did as well once the sun was a little too much for me. Nice peaceful day down there. I should upload the pic showing how I made my descent. There is this road that goes back and forth about 6 times along this cliff down to the beach below. Such a cool view from below. It's about a 10 minute walk up it hah. Now I know how the beach was 20 minutes away from the hostel yet pretty much just around the corner.

Had a nice dinner at this snack bar at a square nearby. They had an assortment of fried goods and ended up getting a calzone, some fried potato and cheese balls and this fried ball of rice, salami, cheese and basil. So good. And (not) good for you. Had a relaxing night at the hostel which has started to become the norm and is fine with me. Tomorrow it's renting a scooter to check out more of the most dramatic coastline in Europe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb