Entering an Italian paradise


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

View from the bus to SorrentoView from the bus to SorrentoView from the bus to Sorrento

As we headed around many a sharp curve and up a mountain or two (seeing Vesuvius as we rode out of Naples), views like this appeared. It can be nerve-racking, but after many a trip to the mountains in the U.S., I felt pretty good about leaning into the windows and risking being tossed into the aisle (I'm also being a little dramatic).
I write you from a somewhat swanky bar upon a laptop in Sorrento. I had begun a wonderful entry about it all and going back to Ravenna, but I didn't hit save as soon as I should. So sad! I'm even getting used to the keyboards here. But I'll see what I can re-create before I head back down the Via Corsica Italia (I think it is...the main drag here means more traffic. According to my Frommer's guide, there are no traffic lights here!) to our hotel for dinner.

First, I got to talking last night with Mary Donnan, an art teacher and fellow Italian Studies abroad participant. While she may not be in the same age bracket that us "students" are in from ASU or in my case, KSU, she is eager to take in Italy and all it offers. She, along with my "from middle school" friend Wes, keep good attitudes. I try to spend time with everyone or to have dinner or something of the like, so I am basically keeping up with how everyone is doing on the trip. It does feel as if we spend a lot of time together day in and day
Beach, bay, and moreBeach, bay, and moreBeach, bay, and more

The words "resort town" could begin to describe a lot of what we saw, and Sorrento itself, but that's why I also called the bay area an "Italian paradise." It was gorgeous, basically.
out, so that can make us tired of one another, but Italy offers much in terms of conversation topics! Today I also went to the Isle of Capri with MD. She and I walked around together for a while, but we wanted to do different things. So we split up later to do that, and now we still have things to discuss.

We head on to our last stop of the study abroad tomorrow: Rome. I am truly looking forward to this, but I have enjoyed a break from the city life. Plus, Sorrento sometimes reminds me of a nice Italian version of Hilton Head. I can work on my trip scrapbook on the 6th floor patio and roof area. It's not quite the roof we had in Florence (with a fireworks show to watch one night!), but I can relax. I just had to climb a lot of stairs back up from the boat today. You will certainly get a good Ravenna story or two (as soon as I get it actually posted), some from Florence, and now, from here. The lemons are wonderful, thus the lemon granita is a must here. The water is lovely too, and
Among the elite in CapriAmong the elite in CapriAmong the elite in Capri

This was taken in Capri--I was looking through a gated area that was a part of one of the nice hotels seen there. There were also more cats than I had seen before, so I nicknamed it "Cat-pri." The island is a great day trip, even if one just wants to glance over the designer shops or vistas and climb the winding streets.
it's nice to have neighbors like Positano and Naples. We have also seen what we could navigate and search of Pompeii. It's just always going, so thank goodness some relaxing has come. Arrivederci and thanks, as always, for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Main plaza on the Via del CorsoMain plaza on the Via del Corso
Main plaza on the Via del Corso

Back in Sorrento, known for its lemons, resort-like qualities, and no traffic lights! I must go back, but when I do, I will have become even more traffic-savvy. This could come in handy if one hasn't been to Rome just yet! :-)
Students at dinner in SorrentoStudents at dinner in Sorrento
Students at dinner in Sorrento

I took this photo, so while I am not present in it, these are the students from the study abroad I was a part of. Most were ASU students, yet we all did form a sort of "family," as Janice said we would. At times the interesting blend of this group could make that "family" a tad dysfunctional, but I appreciated them all. I look forward to our reunion before long.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb