Walking Italy's Amalfi Coast - Day 8 - Sorrento


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
June 29th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sadly, the last day of the tour. Today I passed on the optional excursion to Ischia and instead spent some time roaming around Sorrento. Nancy and I walked down to Marina Piccola and then down Via San Cesaro, my favorite shopping alley.

It was there that she was kidnapped. By a mime.

"Look, it's a mime!" He had been so still, I hadn't even noticed him. I got my camera out to take a picture of him and as I was fussing with putting my camera away, she went over and put a coin in his cup. He motioned for her to come back, tapped his heart in a 'thank you', and then handed her a flyer. When she went to take the flyer, he took her hand and froze again, not letting go. I laughed and got the camera out again, then waited for him to let her go as I was fussing with putting it away. When I looked up, she was still stuck, and I realized that I wasn't getting her back until I gave him some money. Well, it was the least I could do after she bought me lunch.

After a gelato, Nancy went to do laundry and I decided I was still hungry, so I bought a slice of pizza and walked down to Marina Piccola again. I sat on a park bench and ate lunch listening to the waves crash and watching the boats.

Then I walked down to Marina Grande to take some more pictures and discovered a tiny path that led behind some hotels and down to a rocky cliff. I sat on the rocks all by myself, listening to the waves, and finally found time to write in my journal. It was absolute heaven and the perfect way to end a great vacation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sorrento Men's ClubSorrento Men's Club
Sorrento Men's Club

A retreat for retired working class men to gossip and play cards. Strictly no women allowed, and no phones.
Sorrento's BeachSorrento's Beach
Sorrento's Beach

Built on rocky cliffs, the Amalfi Coast towns don't have many "beaches" and the ones they do have are tiny. They use man-made beaches instead.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb