A While


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I was writting a juicy entry but a combination of this terrible computer and the incompitent lady working the desk here conspired to delete most of it. Here is what remains at this point....

Its been a while. Wow we are busy.

We woke up our last morning in Manarola, hoped a train to a connection city, and then were off to Pisa. The point was to get in, get a picture of us holding up the leaning tower, and get out. The tight train connections went great. The city is nicer than would be expected for a one trick pony (of the tourist world). The tower is hillarious. Everything I expected and more. I did not know that there were two attempts to fix it by shifting the tower on its axis in the middle of building. So instead of just leaning, it also bends in two places. Everything cost money in Pisa (even just to step inside their church) so played the look but dont touch game, then hoped a train to Florence. We completed a quick walking tour of the city.... Duomo (with famous dome), squares, Michalangelo piazza (with view), a great chapel with Massachio frescos, and the Duomo museum (bronze doors, unfinished Michaelangelo pieta, and Donatellos Mary Magdanline). Then we set out to get into the hotel. We first had to call them. (Long, long, annoying and stupid story short, we realized that Italian pay phones work just like American ones after several euros spend and many botched attempts.... pretty much my fault. Looking back, I really dont want to recount it, because I look retarded). The hotel was basically a guys house (funny joke developed where Bradley decided his daughter fell in love with me... I think she just had a tendency towards weird, long glances). At one point, the grandmother of the house walked in on me brushing my teeth in the bathroom (I should have locked the door, but really, it was just a quick tooth brushing).

The next morning we were up early to get into the Accadamia (museum with Michelangelos David, Prisoners, and uncertainly attributed Pieta). I stupidly did not make reservations (I didnt need them last time I blew through town in the off season), so we waited in line for a bit. One of the security guards (Florence museum guards = NYC club bouncers) had a love of asking the people at the front of the line "are you tired," which, of course, Bradley and I turned into a joke... involving him taunting people to get them out of the line (he actually did nothing of the sort). "Are you tired? Do your feet hurt? Does baby need a bottle? You should just give up now. You will never make it in." We saw another statuary museum (Bargello) and a church with famous frescos. Both confirmed the italian tendency towards leaving priceless pieces of art in the middle of a room (or field) with no supervision or system. Somewhere in between I severely offended a guy selling gelato because when he said "enjoy your ice cream" I replied with "grazie" (thank you in italian).

Advertisement



11th March 2007

Funny
It's funny how I laugh just as much reading your blog as I do listening to you. I'm glad you guys are having a good time.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb