Addio Italia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » Lanciano
June 6th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Addio Italia
The time has come to bid farewell to “mi casa Italiano” for the last four months. School is over, the play is done, the students are gone and Terry and I are leaving for Paris on Wednesday. It has been an experience I will treasure forever. Not only did I get to visit some amazing places, I learned what life is like in a small Italian town. I will remember fondly the many walks among the olive orchards and the lush vineyards with a spectacular view of mountains in the distance in one direction and the sea in the other. I will laugh at my attempts to converse with salesclerks in Italian and their attempts to understand me. I will remember the taste of the delicious gelato, the seafood, the pasta (oh my god the pasta!) and the many wines I had the pleasure of sampling.
Although I leave Lanciano on Wednesday I will have two more days in the country when Terry and I return from France and a visit with my relatives near London England. We will be in Rome for two nights before our flight leaves on Sunday and hope to see the Sistine Chapel and
Grad Dinner with TerryGrad Dinner with TerryGrad Dinner with Terry

The dress was great Wendy
a few other sites that we missed on our last trip there.
Now I look forward to Paris, the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower and perhaps a picnic one afternoon by the Seine River as well as London, Buckingham Palace (is that enough of a castle for you Brian?) and the Tower of London. I will write one more blog when I am home again to let you all know how this next adventure turned out.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

CCI Play 2011CCI Play 2011
CCI Play 2011

No matter where you are, the stresses of play are the same. It was a success but it was a tough slog to get it there.
The Italian AlpsThe Italian Alps
The Italian Alps

How can you get tired of pictures of mountains?
The waterfall at the top of the hike up a mountain.The waterfall at the top of the hike up a mountain.
The waterfall at the top of the hike up a mountain.

It was a tough hike and no goats but the waterfall was beautiful.


6th June 2011

Have a great trip to Paris and London, take lots of pictures. Love Deb
6th June 2011

Your Adventure
Thank you for sharing "Christine's Amazing Italian Adventure". So jealous. You both look amazing. Time to get back to reality soon and love up that grandbaby of yours. See you soon and have a glass a wine for me. By the way I will be a grandma again at the end of November. Anthony and Jeannette are expecting and I can now announce it. Love Arlene and John.
7th June 2011
The waterfall at the top of the hike up a mountain.

Waterfall
Wow!! Simply stunning! But u look a tad warm.... Did u dip your feet in the water? LOL J:)
7th June 2011
Deb and I resting by a spectacular field of poppies

poppies
I love the colour composition in this! J:)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb