St. Patrick's Day


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Cappoquin
March 18th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At the end of my first week in Cappoquin things are settling into a routine. In the morning, if I can get myself out of bed I go for a sunrise cycle ride and look for photo opportunities. Then it is back to the Guesthouse for a traditional Irish breakfast that would make your arteries stand on end. the day is a mix of house keeping, exploring, starting to meet people or visiting a nearby town. Then is is back at 6 pm for a dinner that could feed a small family - but there is only me. At night I have been developing my black and white negatives. My host have let me use an extra room for my mad scientist set up - I am having great fun in an old-world geeky kind of way.

On St. Patrick's day I took a bus to Cork for the parade. The weather was cold and wet. Ireland in March - Duh. (There is sweat justice for all you who where jealous of my trip.) I am freezing my bippy off most of the time. Thank god for Northwest outdoor wear.

I was going to stay the night in a youth hostel in cork and tour the city the next day. There was not a bed in the City to be found. Everywhere else I had stayed I was practically the only one there so I figured it would be no problem. Ireland's second biggest city on St. Patrick's Day with no rooms - Duh.

The parade was unimpressive. They have a bigger one in Seattle I suppose. the crowd was three deep and the floats sporadic. Not much to St. Pat's here.

So I took a bus back early, and I was glad I did. Just in time for the Cappoquin parade, consisting of one float. It had won best overall in the Dungarven parade 11 miles down the road. the kids scampered up, "can I walk too?", "Yea, you can." Oh the smiles. As the float went up one block and down another the patrons spilled out of the pubs to form a crowd. Reaching the main intersection in the town the parade ended with a traditional Irish dance by the kids.

So, after 2 hours traveling each way and getting rained on I have to say I enjoyed the Cappoquin parade much more. With a warm meal following made it all the better.

Then it was time for my first foray into the pubs of Cappoquin. For me the subjects of pubs are a bit of a sore spot. Because of my Celiac disease I cannot have beer due to the barley gluten. Ireland without Guenniss? Or Irish soda bread? Tell me about it.

In order to adjust on my first visit to a pub in Waterford I relied on my fallback position - gin and tonic. There is a bit of a generation gap with the drink in the States, but in Ireland there is also a bit of a gender gap as well. Seems the only people who drink gin and tonic in Ireland are older women. I of course did not figure this out till the second pub, since there where no older women in the first. Not an auspicious start.

Lucky for me they have a fine Irish cider called Bulmers that you can order in a pint class. It will have to do. by the time I got to the the pub the locals where well on their way. After a few minutes I had my opportunity to banter with a young man who was well past 6 sheets. One thing led to another I was swallowed by the young, local and very friendly crowd. Soon I was the American dude passed around from introduction to introduction. Here Seattle equals Curt Cobain. The fact that I was not just passing through but staying both impressed and confused those who feel cramped by the small village. The same goes for my plans to cycle and my family resemblance to the bronze bust in the town square. After a week I had arrived in Cappoquin, in once sense at least.

Advertisement



18th March 2006

Duh!
Hmm....Bryan Flint bantering with the locals in a bar....never would have guessed! ;)
18th March 2006

Here We Are Now Entertain Us
Glad you are having fun and meeting the locals. I giggled about gin and tonic being the fave drink of elderly women. You must have gotten a couple of interesting looks from the barkeep.
19th March 2006

Great
Bryan, good for you!!! I’m glad you made it. I’m also glad that it isn’t all sun& roses (shamrocks?) or you might decide to stay there!. You need not worry about the language problem it should go over OK as long as it has that Irish Brogue and pixy attitude..

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb