Ready...set...GO!!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kildare
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Irish countrysideThe Irish countrysideThe Irish countryside

This was my backyard in Ireland
I just jumped in the deep end, and damn!...I lost those floaty things that fit on your arms. In other words...the non-blogger just started a blog. Yep, its a fact.

If you feel like you are up to the challenge of sitting through a mound of atrocious spelling, puncuation in all the wrong places, mixed with a little bit of ridiculous grammer and sarcasm then sit back and relax. The good news is that you'll get to hear as many stories as I can type, the bad news is that I've already used spell check.

So why start a blog? Well, I'm about to jump on a plane to Tanzania to volunteer with Cross-Cultural Solutions. And instead of emailing everyone (or going through that process where my brain farts and I forget...) with the same story, you can come here and see it for yourself! Let's be honest people. I'm lazy and this blogs saves a lot of cut-and-paste time in different emails. Seriously, why put my fingers through all that right-clicking when I can just type it up once and be done with it?

In all honesty this blog is for all of the people that helped support, and continue to support me with my fundraising efforts. If it wasn't for you guys I wouldn't be able to do what I'm doing. I've been overwhelmed by the donations and generocity towards my program and I can't thank you enough. THANK YOU! Everyday I get closer to reaching my goal and that much closer to Tanzania!

Heres where I'm at right now. I basically just unpacked all of my stuff from Ireland. For those of you that don't know, I was working in Ireland for the past couple of months at camp that runs a therapeutic recreation program for families that have children batteling life threatening and chronic illnesses. Without a doubt one of the best experiences I've had...might have to blog about it actually! But remember, I'm lazy and will only google the words I can't spell so many times in one blog, so this is only the sneak-peek of what's to come. If that doesn't say c'mon back to my site, I don't know what does!

Anyway, the short of it is I met a lovely nurse the other day who said " Hey Tim, do you mind if I jab you with this giant needle, and this one, oh and this one, and how bout one more for good measure." Jab jab jab jab. "Hey thanks nurse. Please take this ridiculous amount of money as a tolken of my graditude." To say the least I got my vaccines for Tanzania the other day...Anyone wanna give three cheers for not getting Yellow Fever? It actually wasn't as bad as I made it sound. The part the hurt the most was how my wallet felt afterwards. Ouch! But as my favourite Ninja Turtle always used to say..It's better to be safe than sorry. Ok maybe he didn't really say it..but lets just pretend.

2 1/2 weeks to go! I think it's actually starting to kick in...aaahhhhh!

-Tim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb