Killarney


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
November 12th 2005
Published: November 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Here I am in beautiful Killarney...its so nice here...probably due to its small town-esque. I have decided on this trip that the big towns are just not me. I think deep down I was just a tree hugging hippie...wait what am i saying!

So yesterday since it was supposed to rain (do they really need to provide a forecast here?) I decided to be nice and warm on a bus tour of the ring of kerry. Quite beautiful actually. Too bad I could hardly understand the tour guide. The bus was chock full of Americans who had not a clue what he was saying...well at least we got some great scenery. However...I was SOOO damn cold all day. and mind you this is with several layers on and a jacket and a scarf. I never warmed up all day. Finally in the evening I went and took the hottest/longest shower ever and drank some tea to get back to normal temperature. In the evening, I wanted some traditional Irish music so I went to pub which had a 3 man band (I actually wasn't sure if the main singer was male or female). Well apparently they need an additional member because the red silkiness (yeah right i haven't been silky in weeks) enticed them to invite me into the band. So i played the spoons. how great. I loved it. Then as I was leaving, not really sure what I was thinking...but i started talking to the locals and they said the band was going on tour in America. I told them to come to SF and they could stay with me...ummm. and then i gave my correct email address. I am a little nervous that the drummer with no rhythm (kinda seems like a necessary requirement for a drummer doesn't it?) will ring me up wanting to move in. eek

So today the weather was supposed to shape up but i looked out and it was raining. surprise surprise....so in preparation for my big hike in this national park, i bundled up...determined to not be cold. I literally wore 4 shirts, 2 sweaters, 2 jackets, a scarf, gloves, and a hat. By the way, my jacket would not button around this little butterball. So i headed out with my leaky umbrella that has one limb that dangles a bit precariously (i really need a new one), and started hiking. So it wasn't much of a hike but more of a long walk. 11miles I tell ya. I think it was supposed to be less but of course i never know where I am going and always make up my own route. I actually was in the middle of this random meadow and there was no trail in sight, but i just kept walking...hmmm. By the way, all the clothes proved unnecessary as the sun came out...darnit! But tons of beauty and fun.

then when i got back i went with a new zealand girl to the pub across the street to watch the Ireland v. New Zealand rugby match. Ireland got absolutely worked but it was great hearing everyone yell in unison "for f*ck's sake!" hahah so great.

So aside from people making fun of me for trying to study spanish in this very english speaking world (well except for the bus driver), Ireland is treating me well. I just pretend my last name is O'Chauvin and sit imaging my little Lynnie running around as a wee lass.

Tomorrow I head out to the Dingle penisula...home of a dolphin (i think his name is Funky--couldn't they think of something better?) who lives in the bay. This could be a disaster for me. Last time i saw a dolphin in the wild (in Louisiana), i jumped out of the boat to go swim with it.
hmmm.

cheers everyone!

Advertisement



14th November 2005

funky
This is the funnyiest paragrahp you've ever written. I had to ask Dad to make sure you really did jump in the Gulf after a dolphin.
14th November 2005

The paragraph about Funky was the funniest ever. I wonder if ther have berlitz language books for understanding the Irish accent. In Wales, try to go to somewhere where they are singing. That's what they are known for.

Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb