The Farewell Dinner


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
December 15th 2016
Published: January 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I'm not the most emotional person, okay I definitely am emotional, but often I don't show it. This night was different. I couldn't believe it was over. I had thought about studying abroad for as long as I could remember, and it was ending just as quickly as it had begun. I was and am heartbroken. That final dinner I could barely eat thinking about how much I was going to miss that place and the people that surrounded. Finn and Kevin couldn't bring the kids because they were all sick. That in itself made me so sad because I had no idea when I would ever see them again, and I still don't know. I also had to say goodbye to Finn and my goodness that hurt me. I didn't know what I was going to do without her. Saying goodbye to her was like a knife in my heart that still hurts. Either way this dinner was so very hard for me to go to. I ended up sobbing as Finn and Kevin walked one way and we all walked the other, not knowing when we would ever come in contact again, certainly never under the same circumstances.

Just like after our arrival dinner we all went to The Quays. It was like we had all come full circle from the awkward group of strangers to family.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb