The 2016 Election


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
November 9th 2016
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

This isn't a blog about my travels. Quite frankly, this isn't even a blog I really want to write. However, I feel that as a writer I have to document my feelings on the United States election, especially since I have the unique experience of witnessing this piece of history, whether good or bad, from another country. It is almost like I am removed, and yet so very painfully aware. I didn't want Trump to win. My feelings for that stem from his multiple statements regarding hatred, misogyny, discrimination, and exclusion. I am scared and nervous for the president of a country I love so much and am so proud of to be a man who has spit so much hate. I know I am not alone on those sentiments.

I went to sleep in Ireland on the night of the eighth of November thinking Hillary Clinton would win. I didn't necessarily support her, but I wasn't genuinely afraid for her to lead my country. I awoke at 4am Irish time and checked in on the status of the election. I stayed awake until 5am, but couldn't stay awake any longer. I woke up to the news that Trump was the new president. I immediately felt sick. Even now I feel ill thinking about what could happen. I'm scared for myself and people I know and love. That shouldn't be the case. However, I am hoping with every ounce of my being that my generation, the one who almost unanimously voted for Clinton, will rise to the occasion of fighting hate with love and not letting our voices be silenced. Heavens knows I won't be silent.

I have never had a huge interest in politics, but I knew I had to vote in this election even though I was going to be abroad. It was too important not to. I think that is what frustrates me about people complaining. There are those out there who refused to vote because neither candidate was good enough. Well you know what? Not voting didn't do a lick of good. But now it is our duty to preserve and make the country our Founding Fathers created stronger despite a leader who could very well tear it down.

Now for my sentiments on being abroad. I have heard so much about this election throughout my time in Ireland. I actually believe I have heard more about it here than I would have at home. Everywhere I went, once people discovered I was American, I was pounded with questions about the election. Who was I voting for? Why? What did I think of Trump? What was going to happen? Strangers asked me these things and I was dumbfounded. Why did people feel like they could bombard me with these questions? More than anything it frustrated me. I just wanted to buy a snow globe in London and I got interrogated about the election by the man working. People in Ireland are very aware of U.S. politics, probably more informed than many Americans. I applaud them for being so knowledgable about our political atmosphere. What I have found very patronizing and unsavory is the fact that people here think that just because they are informed it means they know what it is like to be an American citizen, and want to argue with us about the election. I'm sorry but if you have never set foot in the country you are putting down you don't have a right to judge it. It makes me even angrier when people laugh at the entire situation. It's all well and good that you can stay here in Ireland, but this is my country you are pointing and laughing at. This is my future and the future of my unborn children hanging in the balance and some people think that is a joke. This election has created a country that used to be so revered around the world into an object of laughter and mockery. It is actually disgusting.

I don't know what is going to happen. I don't know if Trump will go through with all of the things he had planned or if he will be stalemated by logical people in positions of power. All I do know is that as a young adult it is my job now to spread love and acceptance and to educate. I want to be a teacher anyway, but it is even more important now than it ever was to educate the younger generations on politics including the rights of every human being, foreign policy, and the differences between each human being that make us all unique. It isn't going to be easy, but I am going to do what I can to create an environment that I am proud to live in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb