Last Ride to Dublin & Returning the Bike


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 15th 2017
Published: August 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

JimRJimRJimR

The entire trip as tracked by the bikes Garmin. Each color represents a different day.
The ride down from Belfast to Dublin was pretty clear -once again just enough rain to be a nuisance but not enough to require a change of gear. My plan was to go straight to the Radisson Blu Airport in Dublin -unload my gear and check in then take the bike back to Kill from the airport. The bike is a lot more comfortable to ride with out my 80+ pounds of gear on the back. It took me about 35 minutes to make it down to Kill.

Louise, who had checked me in back when I arrived and handled my green fuel issue on day one -was on duty. Louise was just finishing up with a new rental to a young guy from Russia that was heading over for a 5 day trip to Killarney and West Ireland. He was wearing a tee shirt and light jacket and Louise was trying to convince him to rent a jacket for comfort. But he said he was used to riding in Russia in December and he would be fine. The only thing worse then being wet on a bike is to be cold and wet. You start to think about how
IMG_5063IMG_5063IMG_5063

Louise and Me at Celtic Rider. Great Group!
cold you are instead of concentrating on the road.

Louise checked me in and drove me back to the airport. We talked about the trip and I told her what I liked about the bike and what items I wished I had on the trip. The top two were: 1. A touring bike windshield- a windshield can have a huge affect on how tired you are at the end of a ride. Imagine riding for 3 hours with your torso hanging half way out the side window of your car versus being behind your car windshield. Some riders like the wind constantly in their face- I prefer a better view and more comfort that a windshield provides. 2.) Cruise Control- I was surprised that a sport/touring bike like the R1200GS didn't come with factory electronic cruise. Having to maintain a constant grip on the accelerator for 2-3 hours also causes hand, wrist, and arm fatigue. The positive side of not having cruise is that using it in raining conditions can be dangerous so cruise could be more dangerous for less experienced riders. None the less, I've never rented a bike with out cruise before and at least for me,
IMG_5068IMG_5068IMG_5068

Dennis and Crystal - Drummolin Castle Newly Weds
it is important that I have it. The recommendations that I received from friends about using Celtic Rider were well placed, the bike(s) were in great condition and other than my gas issue I had no problems. Louise did a great job of working with me to switch bikes so I could stay on track with my schedule. As I said: earlier Celtic Rider could probably get a couple of signs strategically placed to help people find their shop other than that I would give them a HIGH recommendation. Louise also printed out the nice map of the trip for me which is attached.



After getting back to the hotel I started to reconfigure my luggage for the plane ride home the next morning. I had to figure a way to turn my 3 checked bags into 2 checked and 2 carry-on's so I didn't get hit with another $200 luggage fee from American Air. It took a little shifting here and there, but I managed to work it out. I decided to take a cab into town for one last trip to O'Donoghues and perhaps the Temple Bar area. I ended up sharing a cab with
IMG_5053IMG_5053IMG_5053

The Empty Bike returned to Celtic Rider. R1200GS
a young lady who had asked for a cab at the same time I did. She was from Ireland but was currently working in computer software and living in NYC. She got off at near Trinity College and I went on to O'Donoghues. After enjoying a couple pints at OD's, I walked over to Nesbitts for a Soup du Jour. The number one food Item I will miss from Ireland is their soups and the corresponding breads they serve with them. To get over to the Temple bar area I had to walk by the Marriott Shelbourne (where I spent my first two nights), I decided to have an Irish coffee at the awesome lobby bar at the Shelbourne. The bar in general was pretty busy but there was only a couple sitting at the bar itself. I asked where they were from and found out they had just gotten married over by Galway at Drummolin Castle. Dennis and Crystal were from Long Island originally but living in NYC currently. I commented that my wife, daughter, sister-in-law and niece had all stayed at Drummolin Castle one night when they were in Ireland 2 years ago and loved it. I never did make it to Temple bar because we chatted for at least two hours about everything from work to families to raising kids. Crystal reminded me a lot of my soon to be daughter in law both in mannerisms and in appearance. Both Crystal and Colleen are half Irish and half Latino and although I maybe a little partial in Colleens' case, both are beautiful girls.



I bid ado to my new friends and caught a cab back to my hotel. The Radisson at the airport was a great selection because of its proximity to my terminal and because they served breakfast early enough that I could grab a bite to eat before the shuttle brought me over to the terminal. Technically, I was back in the U.S. momentarily just 30 minutes later. Dublin airport has US custom's set up at the airport so you go through customs in Ireland and then don't have to go through customs back in the states. I had a smooth flight home that was 15 minutes early arriving in Chicago O'Hare. Karen drove down and picked me up - from the time I landed, collected my luggage, I was back home less than two hours later.



I will be doing my final/summary blog in the next couple days but wanted to thank all of the people I met along the way for their hospitality, support, and kindness. While experiencing the sights, smells, and sounds, of the countrysides from the back of a bike is awesome, the opportunity to meet new people along the way is my favorite part of touring. The Irish, Scottish, and English people I've met did not disappoint. Thanks!

Jim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb