Lazy Wednesday (They're All Quite Lazy, Actually)


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 18th 2014
Published: September 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes, you just need a down day.



Not to say that today wasn't full of it's own experiences (even if one of those was a dream where I built my own castle).

We started today around 10:30, making our way down the cobbled Fleet Street we dodged gaggles of tourists not too unlike ourselves. What's fascinating and surprising is the hodgepodge of origins these tourists have. Turkey (or Turkiye, as the man's sign he held above his head read) was a surprising one to me. So far, Dublin has been a host to people from every corner of the world. Polish is actually the second most spoken language here - English being the first and Irish (Gaelic) being third.

Anyhow, I started the day with a mad craving for cottage pie AND fish & chips (diet be damned). Taryn got the latter and myself the former at a pub called Gallagher's Boxty House. We also polished off a few pints at The Temple Bar waiting for it to open up, and had a wonderful conversation with the bartender. Another surprising thing about Dublin, is that the denizens are well traveled. Each time I have met a local, they're either not from here or have been elsewhere.

AND FINALLY - I WAS ASKED IF I WAS OF ITALIAN DESCENT BECAUSE OF MY LAST NAME!
(It's an Italian last name originally, but was taken into Mexico by the Spanish. I always get asked if I'm Hispanic.)

After our big lunch and a trip to Tesco, the local grocer, we went back to the hotel - and I crashed. I mean crashed. Apparently, I needed the sleep.

That's OK - because tomorrow we head to the coast to see what I have had in my head for a long time - pray it rains!

'Til next time 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb