What types of music are popular in Ireland?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 26th 2013
Published: September 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

As I was researching more about Ireland I was really interested in knowing more about the culture. I was then really interested in hearing the type of music people in Ireland heard. What I found was really interesting to me because it gave me a better sence of how people learned the songs and how they were then passed on. Traditional Irish music is not really me but I enjoyed learning about the music and it's history. Irish traditional songs are a huge part of people's life and a great part of the culture.

I found that traditional Irish music was once the most popular music in Ireland. New styles of music started becoming popular during the twentieth century. Many of the Irish music was created in the last three hundred years. Irish music and songs usually were not written down. Instead, adults would teach children to play music by ear. This information was really interesting to me because it tells me more about the most popoluar type of music in Ireland and how people tended to learn the songs.Traditional Irish music is a great part of the Irish culture.

http://www.askaboutireland.ie/learning-zone/primary-students/1st-+-2nd-class/music/irish-music-instruments/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb