Hanging in Dublin with Mitt and Barack


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
October 4th 2012
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yo, tacsaithe driver!Yo, tacsaithe driver!Yo, tacsaithe driver!

I need to brush up on my Gaelic.
It's 3 a.m. and the U.S. presidential debate is droning on the TV. I'm only halfway paying attention, on the off chance that either Obama or Romney will make some sort of monumental gaffe or blunder. I'd love to be asleep right now but since it's only 10 p.m. back home in Washington, D.C., I'm wide awake.

I got in at 10 a.m. this morning and made my way to the hotel where I promptly climbed in bed and slept for four hours. Welcome to Dublin.

So, I didn't get much accomplished today but I did learn a few things about Dublin:


• Temple Bar isn't an actual bar. It's a touristy district of shops, restaurants and pubs along the south bank of the River Liffey.
• Guinness reallydoes taste better in Ireland.
• You can walk all over the city but sometimes the best meal is actually right in the lobby of your hotel. The pan-fried plaice and chunky chips with truffle parmesan aioli at The Exchange Restaurant in the Westin were excellent.



I'd also add that, just like most places in the world, a good cab driver can be your best friend. Forget the guide books and
Sir John GraySir John GraySir John Gray

Statue for Sir John Gray on O'Connell Street on the north side of the River Liffey.
travel blogs, the first place you should turn when you arrive in a new, strange place is your cabbie.

My driver laid out a walking pub crawl for me that I'm hoping to check out tomorrow after Lamia wraps up her conference and joins me in the afternoon. We've got dinner reservations and then plan to meet up with her friend for a pint or two.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb